Building New - PCU and/or Mobo problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-03-2010, 10:39 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 2
Question Building New - PCU and/or Mobo problem

PSU - Thermaltake | W0379RU 500W

Mobo - GIGABYTE|GA-MA785GM-US2H

Processor - AMD|PH II X4 965 3.4G AM3 RT

Installed mobo, processor, psu - Plugged in the 2x20 and 2x4 power plugs, hit the on switch to test things out and the PSU began to hum and then smoke. Turned it off and have been trying to figure out whats up since! The case around the psu became super hot also.

Im guessing this is just a bad psu, but could it be a motherboard problem?

ps. If i dont plug in the 2x4 power it turns on, fans start spinning fine but doesnt boot to bios.
__________________

Daxster is offline  
Old 12-03-2010, 11:41 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Building New - PCU and/or Mobo problem

The PSU is feeding power to the motherboard and all devices, not vice versa. If the PSU blows, it is its own fault. However, any of your hardware could have been damaged as well. The only way to tell is try a different PSU.

Are you running that on a surge protector? I'd RMA the PSU. You just found the needle in the haystack. Nothing wrong with Thermaltake.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 12-11-2010, 01:42 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Desolation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 191
Send a message via MSN to Desolation
Default Re: Building New - PCU and/or Mobo problem

ok wait your board has a 24 pin mother board connector right so why are you using a 2x20. it sounds like you mixed up your cables and possibly fried your motherboard. also looking at your power supply it doesn't have a 8 pin power connector for the motherboard it only has a 4 pin and a 20+4 main connector.
__________________
Amd Phenom 2 955 3.9 ghz
Corsair Dominator 1700 mhz
ASUS CROSSHAIR VI formula
amd SAPPHIRE 6870
HAF 932 Full Tower
Corsair TX950W PSU
Windows 7 X64
[SIGPIC]http://www.techist.com/pc/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=70112&dateline=128146 3255[/SIGPIC]
Desolation is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking for help, Building a server based mobo PC. fakebird New Systems | Building and Buying 37 12-04-2009 09:17 AM
Building Home ZFS Server - need recommendations for AMD CPU/mobo throughglassdarkly System Upgrades 0 05-21-2009 01:05 AM
Building new PC need some help choosing MOBO!!!! Phanto New Systems | Building and Buying 10 11-11-2008 07:42 PM
Building Computer, Need MOBO/PSU Guidance Michael31191 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 07-27-2008 05:26 AM
Building a basic rig, need mobo/ram/vid Raphael Argus System Upgrades 18 09-22-2007 05:51 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.