Building a Computer, have issue with Hard Drive Power Connection (Pictures Inside) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-18-2009, 11:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 383
Default Building a Computer, have issue with Hard Drive Power Connection (Pictures Inside)

Ok, so Im trying to finish up building a PC for my Dad. Basically my issue is I don't know if Im doing this right. There is only one Power Connector coming from my Power Supply with a Hard Drive/Optical Drive connection. The one power cord has two power connectors on it. Like this:



The issue is that it won't reach from the DVD drive to the Hard Drive. Here is a picture (taken from my cell phone)



Is this the way it is suppose to be connected? Or should there be another power source for the HDD? It just doesn't make sense why they would make the two connector so close together?

Sorry, Im tired and my brain is mush. Hopefully I can get some help.

Thanks
__________________

__________________
Enermax Black Aluminum ATX Mid Tower Case
Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 Wolfdale 3.16Ghz - OC'd at 4.13Ghz Stable
ASUS P5B Deluxe P965 Motherboard
Zalman 750W Modular Power Supply w/ Heatpipe Cooling
Zalman 110MM 2 Ball CPU Cooler
eVGA GeForce GTX285 1GB Graphics Card
G.SKILL 6GB DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800
Logitech THX Z-5300e 280 Watts RMS 5.1 Speakers
SCEPTRE 22" Widescreen HDTV LCD
Wireless Logitech Keyboard and Mouse
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer 7.1
SAMSUNG SpinPoint 320GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s
King$nake is offline  
Old 09-18-2009, 11:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Building a Computer, have issue with Hard Drive Power Connection (Pictures Inside

Only one power cable for SATA devices?

What I would do right now, is move the HDD as close as possible towards the optical. Or if you can mount it somehow in the 5.25" bays.

From the pic, it looks like the HDD doesn't have a 4-pin molex connector, which you could of used. But most SATA hard drives now, don't come with them.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 09-18-2009, 11:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 383
Default Re: Building a Computer, have issue with Hard Drive Power Connection (Pictures Inside

I tried moving the Hard Drive as close as possible, the connector is about 1/4" short, lol.

I also tried the Hard Drive in the DVD Drive Bay (directly below the DVD Drive) but the screw holes don't line up. I was only able to get one screw in, needless to say the HDD was flimsy and I didn't want to leave it there unless it was secure.

Im going to run to Best Buy and get a converter like this:

__________________
Enermax Black Aluminum ATX Mid Tower Case
Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 Wolfdale 3.16Ghz - OC'd at 4.13Ghz Stable
ASUS P5B Deluxe P965 Motherboard
Zalman 750W Modular Power Supply w/ Heatpipe Cooling
Zalman 110MM 2 Ball CPU Cooler
eVGA GeForce GTX285 1GB Graphics Card
G.SKILL 6GB DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800
Logitech THX Z-5300e 280 Watts RMS 5.1 Speakers
SCEPTRE 22" Widescreen HDTV LCD
Wireless Logitech Keyboard and Mouse
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer 7.1
SAMSUNG SpinPoint 320GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s
King$nake is offline  
Old 09-18-2009, 11:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Building a Computer, have issue with Hard Drive Power Connection (Pictures Inside

Oh ok.

yea, that converter would be your best bet then.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 09-19-2009, 12:56 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 383
Default Re: Building a Computer, have issue with Hard Drive Power Connection (Pictures Inside

Thanks for the help man.
__________________
Enermax Black Aluminum ATX Mid Tower Case
Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 Wolfdale 3.16Ghz - OC'd at 4.13Ghz Stable
ASUS P5B Deluxe P965 Motherboard
Zalman 750W Modular Power Supply w/ Heatpipe Cooling
Zalman 110MM 2 Ball CPU Cooler
eVGA GeForce GTX285 1GB Graphics Card
G.SKILL 6GB DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800
Logitech THX Z-5300e 280 Watts RMS 5.1 Speakers
SCEPTRE 22" Widescreen HDTV LCD
Wireless Logitech Keyboard and Mouse
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer 7.1
SAMSUNG SpinPoint 320GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s
King$nake is offline  
Old 09-19-2009, 01:06 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default Re: Building a Computer, have issue with Hard Drive Power Connection (Pictures Inside

To me it looks like if you move the DVD drive to the bottom bay the connectors will reach.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
"Now I lay my computer down to sleep, I pray the hard drive my files to keep, If I should lose power before I save, I pray the hard drive my backups to take"
The Techies' Bible - Dario 1:1
dario03 is offline  
Old 09-19-2009, 01:54 AM   #7 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Building a Computer, have issue with Hard Drive Power Connection (Pictures Inside

dario's got a good point there.

Didn't even think about that.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 09-19-2009, 08:15 PM   #8 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Building a Computer, have issue with Hard Drive Power Connection (Pictures Inside

Snap out covers. That would leave a hole for the top bay.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 09-20-2009, 01:12 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 8
Send a message via AIM to Frogmaster Send a message via Yahoo to Frogmaster
Default Re: Building a Computer, have issue with Hard Drive Power Connection (Pictures Inside

Yeah, the cheapest solution is just to move the hdd up two slots and the optical drive down a few.
__________________

Frogmaster is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
computer hangs on a black screen zenyora Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 15 06-10-2009 03:12 PM
Could you guys help me in building a computer please? :x Clover New Systems | Building and Buying 63 03-02-2009 11:52 PM
Hard Drive issue? vtecyo Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 12-09-2008 01:58 PM
SATA hard drive problems. Zatrox Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 09-28-2008 11:00 PM
Crysis 1.2 patch dario03 PC Gaming 34 08-29-2008 02:42 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.