Build Help. System doesn't switch on. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-08-2011, 11:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: SA, Australia
Posts: 90
Default Build Help. System doesn't switch on.

So I got my parts and put it altogether.

Quote:
Originally Posted by -Tenk- View Post
Case
Antec 300 Case

PSU
Antec EarthWatts 750Watt

CPU
AMD Phenom x6 1090T

Motherboard
ASRock 890GM-Pro3 890G DDR3 Motherboard

Hard Drive
WD 3.5" 7200RPM 1TB

Video Card
Powercolour 6870 1GB

RAM
1x Patriot Signature 4GB DDR3 1333

OS - Windows 7 Home.

In Short:
PSU: 750W
CPU: 6@3.2Ghz
GPU: 6870 1GB
RAM: 4GB DDR3 1333
HDD: 1TB
Problem is, it doesn't even power up.

Is it possible i've blown everything up before i've gone to turn it on?

I even unplugged everything so jsut the mobo was hooked up to the power, still nothing.

What can I do to test each component?

My initial thought was it was the button on the case that wasn't working. However, I can't be sure in my inexperience I haven't accidentally blown up everything.

Please help.

Cheers,
Tenk.
__________________

-Tenk- is offline  
Old 04-08-2011, 11:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,363
Default Re: Build Help. System doesn't switch on.

If you question the case power button, you can use a flat screwdriver or other metal object to turn on the PC. Unplug the power switch and touch the metal object across the two power switch terminals. This should turn the PC on if everything is correct.

You can test your power supply by sticking a wire (or paperclip) between the GREEN and any BLACK wire on the 20 or 24 pin ATX connector. This should turn on the PSU fan if it is good.
__________________

__________________

CalcProgrammer1 is offline  
Old 04-09-2011, 10:07 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Build Help. System doesn't switch on.

Look through this guide and make sure you didn't skip something during the assembly.

The animated guide to Building a PC. Learn to build a PC from scratch with PCitYourself!
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 04-11-2011, 07:28 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: SA, Australia
Posts: 90
Default Re: Build Help. System doesn't switch on.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaymate View Post
Look through this guide and make sure you didn't skip something during the assembly.

The animated guide to Building a PC. Learn to build a PC from scratch with PCitYourself!

Funny storey, during the build I had that open on the laptop I'm pretty sure I didn't miss a step. But here is what I did anyway:

1. CPU into motherboard
2. Heatsink onto CPU (after flipping it around a few times... doesn't seem to matter which way it goes in terms of which way the little lever clamp thing points)
3. RAM into Motherboard (possible point of problems... I've only got one stick of RAM and i've got it in the A1 slot at teh moment.)
4. Risers into Case
5. Mobo onto risers in case.
6. Optical Drive into case
7. HDD into case
8. PSU into case
9. Wire up Mobo to case. I've double and triple checked i've got that right now. I had it hopeleslly wrong the first time. Had the front panel wires round the wrong way. Instead of being long ways along the pins, I had them up and down...
10. Fans into case
11. Hook up HDD to mobo
12. Hook up Optical Drive to mobo
13. Hook up PSU to mobo (atx 24 pin plus another 4 pin near the CPU)
14. Hook everything else up to PSU
15. Try to turn on.
16. Went to bed.

Just checked the PSU, the fan switches on fine. Now to check the button on the front of the case... I can't see a way to get at it. A bunch of bits are pop riveted in which prevents access from the back fo the button. I'll see if I can dismount it from the front.

Okay, can't disconnect the button. Tried sticking a paperclip across the pins at the mobo, nothing...

Any other ideas? What could terminally prevent a computer from powering up?
-Tenk- is offline  
Old 04-15-2011, 10:28 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: SA, Australia
Posts: 90
Default Re: Build Help. System doesn't switch on.

Ok, so I took it back to where I bought all my parts from. The fellow there had a quick look and it seems that I made a bonehead mistake whilst building.

It was about 1am and I was trying to build the machine anyway, I screwed a riser into every single hole behind the mobo and didn't realize there weren't enough holes in the mobo to actually screw the thing to all those risers. Looks like some of the risers might be shorting out the mobo.

I could be up for a new mobo here.

****.

Thanks for your help guys! Next time I do a build, i'll be doing it when i'm well rested and thinking straight.
-Tenk- is offline  
Old 04-15-2011, 10:59 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
GhOsT1321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 804
Default Re: Build Help. System doesn't switch on.

Have you tried taking the excess risers out? There is a chance that the mobo is fine.
__________________
Build to be updated, a reminder to myself.
GhOsT1321 is offline  
Old 04-15-2011, 09:53 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: SA, Australia
Posts: 90
Default Re: Build Help. System doesn't switch on.

Yeah, I know that and I'm seriously hoping thats the case. I've got the store doing a diagnostic on it. Even if the mobo is fine, there is no guarentee i haven't screwed something else up in my over-tired delirium. I figure this way i'll know exactly what i've done wrong and where to go to fix it and get it working
__________________

-Tenk- is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Build me a new system! Brew_WY New Systems | Building and Buying 23 10-01-2010 12:52 AM
Is 3Com 24-switch necessary or typical switch will do? classicalboy Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 1 07-13-2010 02:00 PM
How does a switch build its table? ZeroShade Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 4 06-24-2008 08:30 AM
new build cant find where power switch plugs into the Mobo? nastsystems System Upgrades 17 03-16-2008 06:33 PM
New System Build: Recommendations Please On This Build & Thank You H2wOah New Systems | Building and Buying 40 02-15-2008 06:47 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.