BSODs - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-19-2011, 06:57 PM   #21 (permalink)
Bake a Pretty Cake!
 
Spit-wad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 904
Default Re: BSODs

Quote:
Originally Posted by RedKr0wz View Post
Sounds like a virus to me.

If I was you I'd boot in safe mode, back up all I need, format and reinstall OS.
I originally suspected a virus. My MSE shows nothing, but I was never able to get through a full Malwarebytes scan without BSODing.

Reformatting is not an option because backing up is not an option. I have the OS installed on a 2TB drive that's full and all of my other drives are also full (this is a HTPC).
__________________

__________________
Spit-wad is offline  
Old 11-19-2011, 07:02 PM   #22 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 10
Default Re: BSODs

Try a rootkit scan.
__________________

RedKr0wz is offline  
Old 11-19-2011, 07:27 PM   #23 (permalink)
Bake a Pretty Cake!
 
Spit-wad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 904
Default Re: BSODs

Bleh, I think my roommates and I might be able to scrounge up enough space for backup between like 5 drives. I'm just gonna go that route and reformat. Assume that fixes it unless I report back.
__________________
Spit-wad is offline  
Old 12-07-2011, 10:27 PM   #24 (permalink)
Bake a Pretty Cake!
 
Spit-wad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 904
Default Re: BSODs

Alright guys, I'm back. I got everything backed up, but I'm having trouble installing windows.

I unhooked my other hard drives, so there's just the one in there now. When I try to install, it first takes a ridiculously long time to get into the setup, and then it never completes it through - it always reboots before it finishes and starts over at the Install screen. I was originally using a CD, then I tried downloading a new iso and have it booting from a flash drive, but I'm getting the same results. I've never had this problem trying to install windows before - I don't know what to do.
__________________
Spit-wad is offline  
Old 12-12-2011, 02:26 AM   #25 (permalink)
Bake a Pretty Cake!
 
Spit-wad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 904
Default Re: BSODs

Anyone help?
__________________
Spit-wad is offline  
Old 01-17-2012, 12:22 PM   #26 (permalink)
Bake a Pretty Cake!
 
Spit-wad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 904
Default Re: BSODs

Update 1 month later: Tried running more tests, found nothing. Decided to just backup everything and reformat. Computer was working well for about a week, and then the same issues started happening.

-Explorer constantly crashes.
-Sometimes Windows will say it's not genuine.
-BSODs.
-Everything crashing.
__________________
Spit-wad is offline  
Old 01-17-2012, 12:47 PM   #27 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: BSODs

I doubt he needs a reformat. SpitWad hasn't replied in a while, so he probably gave up on it.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 01-17-2012, 01:21 PM   #28 (permalink)
Bake a Pretty Cake!
 
Spit-wad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 904
Default Re: BSODs

Quote:
Originally Posted by MindoverMaster View Post
I doubt he needs a reformat. SpitWad hasn't replied in a while, so he probably gave up on it.
I think you're behind a page
__________________
Spit-wad is offline  
Old 01-17-2012, 02:14 PM   #29 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: BSODs

Don't know how I missed that...
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 01-17-2012, 05:08 PM   #30 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: BSODs

I know you've ran and passed memtest but it still sounds like a memory problem. How many sticks of ram are you using? Two? Does your mobo have 4 ram slots? Have you tried moving your memory to the other two slots? It could be the memory controller, problem is the memory controller is part of the cpu.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ntoskrnl and BSODs Swam31 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 08-14-2011 08:15 AM
Intermittant BSODs... Marshal Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 07-27-2011 12:48 AM
BSODs Spit-wad Microsoft Windows and Software 6 12-28-2010 08:04 AM
More BSODs... redfish Microsoft Windows and Software 4 12-13-2010 06:33 PM
Several BSODs ohGrFreak Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 14 03-04-2009 11:29 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.