Bsod- Not sure whats causing it - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-08-2008, 08:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 65
Default Bsod- Not sure whats causing it

It mostly happens when playing Call of duty waw,
when it does crash while in cod the blue screen will say something about
Page_Fault_in_non_page_area and reference a file called dxgkrnl.sys.

If the blue screen happens outside of cod it doesn't say anything.

I get those bsods with vista, I reinstalled xp last night
I now get resets instead of the blue screens.

Q6600 @ 3Ghz
Asus P5E-D
HD 4870


Any ideas.
__________________

Rmgdx is offline  
Old 12-08-2008, 11:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Bsod- Not sure whats causing it

http://www.techist.com/forums/f9/dec...errors-193078/

Please read that. It will help next time you come across this issue.

The issue resides in the DirectX Kernel. It is crashing. Which is causing the system to throw out Memory Errors.

So first i would run MemTest86.

Memtest86 - Download Page

Get the ISO and burn it with ImgBurn.

Burning ISO Images with ImgBurn - NeoSmart Technologies Wiki
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 12-09-2008, 04:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 65
Default Re: Bsod- Not sure whats causing it

Thanks,

I ran the memtest and the ram failed each time.
I tried all 4 sticks in different combos of 2 an the test came back with a continuous error
each time, so I tested each stick individually and they all passed.
So then I reset my bios so my cpu would go to stock,
ran the memtest again the ram was at 800 instead of 1066 and the test went fine with 2 sticks.

Then I tried 1066 again it failed, then I tried 887 I think it was and it failed, so finally I
set the cpu to 3ghz and the ram at 800 and ran memtest and it doesn't error.

Does this mean the ram is bad or am I doing something wrong?


I have 4 2 gb sticks of OCZ Platinum PC2 8500
Rmgdx is offline  
Old 12-09-2008, 04:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Bsod- Not sure whats causing it

That just means that the RAM cant run at those speeds. It needs to be run at 800 in order for it to work properly. Anything higher and it causes crashes.

If you need RAM that can do 1066 i would suggest you buy some new stuff. Cause the stuff you have now. Doesnt like that speed.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 12-09-2008, 05:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 65
Default Re: Bsod- Not sure whats causing it

Thanks for the quick reply :P

What would you do, reset the cpu and run the ram at 1066 or
leave the cpu and run it at 800.
Rmgdx is offline  
Old 12-09-2008, 07:04 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii
Default Re: Bsod- Not sure whats causing it

2 cents...

I have vista x64 and far cry 2 gave me nothing but problems which the only solution I could find was memory leak issues. I downloaded an update that was released from msoft the very next day thinking maybe it would solve the issue but didnt.

far cry 2 would force my computer to restart, I would be in the middle of the game and like the blink of an eye my pc was restarting.. Not only this, but often enough would give me bsod's with memory stop codes, 2-3 different codes but all relating to this infamous memory leak problem.

I haven't look up anything on waw other than the fact that I can't get the game to run because of some gfx code problem. I would look into this though.. because it's likely not your ram, and likely the game you're playing.

Left 4 dead crashes to my desktop... I never had a problem with guild wars until I downloaded 180.48 drivers and now crashes to desktop.. Also I know crysis + exp have given people problems with bsod's relating to memory..

I don't think it's bad hardware, i think it's bad software, or software conflicts, etc.

**edit: I also read that far cry 2 didn't "like" overclocked hardware, but that just sounds like a load of crap. Although I haven't tested it, perhaps it's something on your plate to try to resolve your issue.
__________________

Demalii is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Major BSOD problems. IBM/PS1 Microsoft Windows and Software 3 08-01-2008 01:37 PM
Possible Hardware Issue? (w/ BSOD) mendriel Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 04-05-2008 02:42 PM
World’s Largest BSOD Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 11-09-2007 05:55 PM
Losing display, restarting, artifacts, not sure what's causing it. PILMAN Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 16 09-09-2007 06:00 PM
BSOD problem dkim1985 Microsoft Windows and Software 50 08-19-2007 05:13 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.