BSOD followed by the error ''the boot selection failed because a required device is inaccessible 0xc000000e'. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-10-2011, 07:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 2
Default BSOD followed by the error ''the boot selection failed because a required device is inaccessible 0xc000000e'.

Hi guys, sorry i haven't had time to introduce myself! thanks in advanced for having a look

Built this pc, thought everything was running stable but i got another BSOD earlier. After it has rebooted i get a message saying 'the boot selection failed because a required device is inaccessible 0xc000000e'. After rebooting once the pc will boot fine to windows 7 ultimate 64bit

Currently i have the two OCZ Agility 3 (with latest firmware) running on the Jmicron SATA 2 ports in RAID 0 on my Sabertooth X58 motherbood and i randomly get this problem. Doesn't seem to be any pattern to it. HDTune shows no errors on the Hard drive error check.

The odd thing is that this didn't happen when it was plugged into the marvel SATA 3 controller, it was just slower... because marvel are terrible > so i have figured out that it must be something to do with the RAID controller on the motherboard? I have the latest JMicron SATA drivers from the official ASUS website.

Another curious thing (not sure if it is related but i am going to post it anyway) is that before i rebooted it earlier HDtune was benching the hard drives and showing that i was getting 2.5gb a second which is impossible.. don't know if this has any relevance however..

I did a memtest earlier in the day to make sure that the RAM was running stable. It did one pass and no errors were found so i am ruling out the ram.

Here are the specs

Sabertooth x58 Asus Motherboard
24 GB of Corsair Vengeance RAM (i was told by the person i was building it for they wanted 24gb of RAM) 10-10-10-27 1.575V @ 1866Mhz
Intel 980x @ Stock - Arctic Freezer 7 PRO rev 2 (i have no intentions of overclocking)
XFX ATI 5770 1GB
Corsair Modular 750 Watt PSU

I haven't done much in the way of recent activity.. downloaded core temp, prime 95, speed fan and crysis demo.. played the demo for a bit, installed USB 3.0 drivers and did a few windows updates (all this had been done on marvel raid controller and was stable)

Help really appreciated, i know it is a pain in the arse! Thanks
__________________

thetrooper123 is offline  
Old 09-11-2011, 10:45 AM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: BSOD followed by the error ''the boot selection failed because a required device is inaccessible 0xc000000e'.

Quote:
Originally Posted by thetrooper123 View Post
Hi guys, sorry i haven't had time to introduce myself! thanks in advanced for having a look

Built this pc, thought everything was running stable but i got another BSOD earlier. After it has rebooted i get a message saying 'the boot selection failed because a required device is inaccessible 0xc000000e'. After rebooting once the pc will boot fine to windows 7 ultimate 64bit

Currently i have the two OCZ Agility 3 (with latest firmware) running on the Jmicron SATA 2 ports in RAID 0 on my Sabertooth X58 motherbood and i randomly get this problem. Doesn't seem to be any pattern to it. HDTune shows no errors on the Hard drive error check.

The odd thing is that this didn't happen when it was plugged into the marvel SATA 3 controller, it was just slower... because marvel are terrible > so i have figured out that it must be something to do with the RAID controller on the motherboard? I have the latest JMicron SATA drivers from the official ASUS website.

Another curious thing (not sure if it is related but i am going to post it anyway) is that before i rebooted it earlier HDtune was benching the hard drives and showing that i was getting 2.5gb a second which is impossible.. don't know if this has any relevance however..

I did a memtest earlier in the day to make sure that the RAM was running stable. It did one pass and no errors were found so i am ruling out the ram.

Here are the specs

Sabertooth x58 Asus Motherboard
24 GB of Corsair Vengeance RAM (i was told by the person i was building it for they wanted 24gb of RAM) 10-10-10-27 1.575V @ 1866Mhz
Intel 980x @ Stock - Arctic Freezer 7 PRO rev 2 (i have no intentions of overclocking)
XFX ATI 5770 1GB
Corsair Modular 750 Watt PSU

I haven't done much in the way of recent activity.. downloaded core temp, prime 95, speed fan and crysis demo.. played the demo for a bit, installed USB 3.0 drivers and did a few windows updates (all this had been done on marvel raid controller and was stable)

Help really appreciated, i know it is a pain in the arse! Thanks
Have a look into this thread here, I will help you out more later when I get back home.
This should be a starter solution to your problem you have.
Missing or corrupt winload.exe (0xc000000e)
__________________

-RockMan- is offline  
Old 09-11-2011, 11:34 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: BSOD followed by the error ''the boot selection failed because a required device is inaccessible 0xc000000e'.

Use the Intel controller, don't use Raid, use the Microsoft AHCI driver.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 09-12-2011, 10:01 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 2
Default Re: BSOD followed by the error ''the boot selection failed because a required device is inaccessible 0xc000000e'.

doesn't that mean i can't have my hard drives in RAID0? thats kind of an issue really otherwise i would have just got one 500gb hard drive! with the Jmicron controller which i believe is the intel one.. the computer is unstable and blue screens, when i have that marvel one it is stable but capped at 300mb a second for whatever reason.. :\ would a raid controller fix this issue?
thetrooper123 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Boot Device error? cfgcjm New Systems | Building and Buying 0 09-18-2007 11:41 PM
Inaccessible Boot Device Error qbbraveheart Microsoft Windows and Software 10 01-04-2006 02:21 PM
inaccessible boot device..... CntdwnToExtn Microsoft Windows and Software 2 02-05-2005 03:28 PM
reboot and select proper boot device or insert boot media in selected boot device... douchebar Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 07-06-2004 05:23 AM
Inaccessible Boot Device! XeKToReX Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 09-22-2003 09:58 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.