BSOD error "Not Less or Equal" - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-10-2013, 09:02 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 34
Default Re: BSOD error "Not Less or Equal"

I'll test it tonight while I sleep.
__________________

ryanhostetler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2013, 10:23 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 34
Default Re: BSOD error "Not Less or Equal"

Quote:
Originally Posted by ryanhostetler View Post
I'll test it tonight while I sleep.
So, I lied. I'm testing the memory right now. As of this moment, I've got 16,177 errors. This seems like quite a few to me. I'm wondering what the philosophy is for the Memtest86 program. Since I've already shown errors, does that mean the test is over? Should I go ahead and reboot, slot in only one stick and try again? What will the test be able to tell me at the end besides that there were errors?
__________________

ryanhostetler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2013, 10:36 PM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Spartan109's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 82
Default Re: BSOD error "Not Less or Equal"

jesus, thats alot of errors. test it one stick at a time, if any of them have errors, you need new ram
__________________
My Rig:

Core i5-750 4.1ghz @ 1.3v||Prolimatech Megahalems||Intel DP55KG MoBo||G.Skill sniper series 8gb @1642mhz 9-9-9-24||XFX 6870 1gb||Intel 120gb ssd||2x 1.5tb WD Green HDD's|| Corsair TX750w||NZXT Tempest EVO||
Spartan109 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2013, 11:12 PM   #14 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: BSOD error "Not Less or Equal"

Quote:
Originally Posted by ryanhostetler View Post
So, I lied. I'm testing the memory right now. As of this moment, I've got 16,177 errors. This seems like quite a few to me. I'm wondering what the philosophy is for the Memtest86 program. Since I've already shown errors, does that mean the test is over? Should I go ahead and reboot, slot in only one stick and try again? What will the test be able to tell me at the end besides that there were errors?
Yes, test 1 stick at a time.

The test will tell you which stick is bad. If there are any errors (even 1), then the RAM is bad. If you're getting that many errors... then holy crap that's definitely an issue.

So put in 1 stick at a time and test individually to find out which RAM module(s) is/are giving you the errors.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2013, 01:23 AM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 34
Default Re: BSOD error "Not Less or Equal"

So, it's somewhat premature, but I think I've determined which one of my memory sticks is bad. When I replace it, I know I need to go with the same kind of RAM, although I'm having trouble finding the exact same part number of RAM to replace it. The part number is Avant AVF6451U64F9333G2-HYBP, 4GB DDR3 DIMM 1333. Can I replace this with a different Avant 4GB DDR3 DIMM 1333? I found new Avant RAM that is AVF6456U61F9333AK2.
ryanhostetler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2013, 08:43 AM   #16 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Spartan109's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 82
Default

You can replace it with any stick of 4gb ddr3 1333mhz ram
__________________
My Rig:

Core i5-750 4.1ghz @ 1.3v||Prolimatech Megahalems||Intel DP55KG MoBo||G.Skill sniper series 8gb @1642mhz 9-9-9-24||XFX 6870 1gb||Intel 120gb ssd||2x 1.5tb WD Green HDD's|| Corsair TX750w||NZXT Tempest EVO||
Spartan109 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2013, 09:57 AM   #17 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: BSOD error "Not Less or Equal"

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spartan109 View Post
You can replace it with any stick of 4gb ddr3 1333mhz ram
To expand, as long as the speed (Mhz rating), type (DDR3), voltage, and timings (x-x-x-x) match as close as you can, you should be able to. Ideally you should replace the whole kit, but you can use old / new sticks.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2013, 10:51 AM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 34
Default Re: BSOD error "Not Less or Equal"

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
To expand, as long as the speed (Mhz rating), type (DDR3), voltage, and timings (x-x-x-x) match as close as you can, you should be able to. Ideally you should replace the whole kit, but you can use old / new sticks.
Well, the speed, type, and voltage are all the same, although I have no idea how to figure out the timings.
ryanhostetler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2013, 11:00 AM   #19 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: BSOD error "Not Less or Equal"

Quote:
Originally Posted by ryanhostetler View Post
Well, the speed, type, and voltage are all the same, although I have no idea how to figure out the timings.
Should be printed on the RAM stick. Or you can find it by running CPU-Z while booted into Windows.
CPU-Z CPUID - System & hardware benchmark, monitoring, reporting
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2013, 11:20 AM   #20 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 34
Default Re: BSOD error "Not Less or Equal"

I also wonder about the fact that my motherboard supports triple-channel memory. I previously had three sticks that were identical. If I have two of the old and two of the new, I wonder if that will pose a problem. It makes me more inclined to just go with a new set of three.
__________________

ryanhostetler is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.