BSOD on Boot - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-11-2008, 06:43 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
aeroplane22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southern Maine
Posts: 81
Send a message via Yahoo to aeroplane22
Question BSOD on Boot

I get a BSOD on startup with Vista Ultimate x64.

Things I have tried...

Removed Sound Card.
Removed 2 SATA DVD Drives.
Exchanged Video Card.
Unplugged everything except for video/keyboard.
Reset CMOS Battery.
Tried 1 stick of RAM out of 4, tried different sticks, different combinations.
Tried Windows Disc repair.
Directory Services Repair Mode.
Last known good configuration.
Safe Mode, Safe Mode w/Network, Safe Mode w/command prompt.

Nothing seems to work, it just simply flashes a BSOD for a nano-second then reboots as soon as Windows is about to start. Any suggestions? Would rather not go straight to formatting...
__________________

aeroplane22 is offline  
Old 04-11-2008, 06:45 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
stalin90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,371
Default Re: BSOD on Boot

put you cpu back to stock try that. really the only reason i can think that it would just bsod on start
__________________

__________________

- INTEL Q6700 @ 3.2 - ASUS P5Q Pro - EVGA 9800GTX - 4GB Patriot Viper @ 1066 -
stalin90 is offline  
Old 05-18-2008, 01:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
aeroplane22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southern Maine
Posts: 81
Send a message via Yahoo to aeroplane22
Unhappy

Well it has been a while since I've had this problem. I had to reinstall Windows to fix it.

Now the problem I'm having is that it will not boot into Windows. No blue screens, no errors really, it just will not go past the point where it would load up the Advanced Options (F8). It just sits there forever (I've left it there for 7 hours.)

If I put the windows CD in, it will boot up with that and allow me to go through all the options. Startup Repair, Windows Install, Memory Diagnostic, etc.

If I do a startup repair, it will fix something and then reboot into the same problem. If I choose memory diagnostic, it doesn't load as the diagnostic loads past the (F8) point of the startup.

Tried:
Resetting BIOS to default.
Reseating RAM, CPU, Sound Card, Video Card, Cables (Everything).
All fans are on, including PSU.
(NOTE: BIOS recognizes HDD and the correct amount of RAM.)
(NOTE 2: Windows CD startup recognizes my HDD and it's allocated space.)

Just tried a different video card, no dice.

Unfortunately, I have no backup RAM to try, all I have are OCZ Plat. DDR400.

Could this be a failing/failed HDD? Even though it doesn't give a Hard Disk or "No OS" error?

Tried:
Resetting BIOS to default.
Reseating RAM, CPU, Sound Card, Video Card, Cables (Everything).
Cleaned off heatsink and CPU and reapplied Arctic Silver.
All fans are on, including PSU.
Tried unplugging everything except for Video, CPU and HDD.
(NOTE: BIOS recognizes HDD and the correct amount of RAM.)
(NOTE 2: Windows CD startup recognizes my HDD and it's allocated space.)
aeroplane22 is offline  
Old 05-18-2008, 09:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: BSOD on Boot

Have you run MemTEst86? Have you run any CPU stress tests?

.StressLinux.org. - .System.High.Load.Test.
Memtest86 - Download Page
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 05-18-2008, 10:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
aeroplane22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southern Maine
Posts: 81
Send a message via Yahoo to aeroplane22
Default Re: BSOD on Boot

Is this something I can boot via floppy?

It's currently running a BIOS start-up memory test.
aeroplane22 is offline  
Old 05-18-2008, 10:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: BSOD on Boot

Yes htey are boot bootable CD's.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 05-18-2008, 10:14 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
aeroplane22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southern Maine
Posts: 81
Send a message via Yahoo to aeroplane22
Default Re: BSOD on Boot

Well as it stands..

It will not go very far into the simple BIOS pre-boot memtest. So, I think I'll just wait on my new RAM before I commit my PC as a marksman's training device.
aeroplane22 is offline  
Old 05-18-2008, 10:23 PM   #8 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: BSOD on Boot

Do you have the system set to boot from CD in the BIOS?
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BSOD on vista boot ZeroShade Microsoft Windows and Software 12 01-21-2008 04:10 AM
P5K Premium "Proper Boot Device/Insert Boot Media" s-patrol Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 12-02-2007 12:37 AM
Boot order question AceWriter System Upgrades 0 10-13-2007 12:29 PM
Unmountable Boot Volume - BSoD Raj1991 Microsoft Windows and Software 6 04-03-2007 11:59 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.