BSOD after installing new processor - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-28-2010, 07:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 158
Default BSOD after installing new processor

Hi, I have installed a new amd 955 processor into my am2+/am3 board. The bios are up to date. They happen at random. When I am on the internet or when I am not even using the computer. These didnt happen until I installed the new processor.
__________________

michaelvvmm is offline  
Old 05-28-2010, 07:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: BSOD after installing new processor

What are your temperatures like?
CPUID - System & hardware benchmark, monitoring, reporting
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 05-28-2010, 07:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: BSOD after installing new processor

What is the STOP error code your are receiving.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now  
Old 05-29-2010, 01:42 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 158
Default Re: BSOD after installing new processor

I dont know how to find the stop error code. My temps are:
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Capture.jpg (12.5 KB, 105 views)
michaelvvmm is offline  
Old 05-29-2010, 03:38 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,772
Default Re: BSOD after installing new processor

The STOP code is the really long code of numbers that are shown on the BSOD.
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 05-29-2010, 05:09 AM   #6 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: BSOD after installing new processor

Quote:
Originally Posted by michaelvvmm View Post
I dont know how to find the stop error code. My temps are:
http://www.techist.com/forums/f9/dec...errors-193078/
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now  
Old 05-29-2010, 08:30 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: BSOD after installing new processor

And SpeedFan sucks. Please use HW Monitor, it will give use more info to use.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 05-29-2010, 10:25 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: BSOD after installing new processor

The GPU is at 55C and it says it's to hot? That must not be at 100 Tmax.

Yes, use HW Monitor.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 05-29-2010, 11:50 AM   #9 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: BSOD after installing new processor

Well i can solve this issue with 1 simple remark.

You failed to reinstall your OS. Your install of Windows is still using the drivers from the previous CPU. Those drivers like the chipset drivers are what Windows uses to help control the mobo and the CPU from within the OS and prevent issues like you are experiencing.

Reinstall your OS and resolve your issues. Windows can NOT just have a CPU switched on it and be expected to operate properly. You cant use a set of keys for a Honda and expect to drive a Ferrari. Dont expect Windows to use drivers from an older AMD processor with a newer AMD processor.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 05-29-2010, 11:59 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 158
Default Re: BSOD after installing new processor

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mak213 View Post
Well i can solve this issue with 1 simple remark.

You failed to reinstall your OS. Your install of Windows is still using the drivers from the previous CPU. Those drivers like the chipset drivers are what Windows uses to help control the mobo and the CPU from within the OS and prevent issues like you are experiencing.

Reinstall your OS and resolve your issues. Windows can NOT just have a CPU switched on it and be expected to operate properly. You cant use a set of keys for a Honda and expect to drive a Ferrari. Dont expect Windows to use drivers from an older AMD processor with a newer AMD processor.
Okay thanks for helping!
__________________

michaelvvmm is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nv4_Disp.dll BSOD Lozzo Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 10 02-08-2010 07:10 PM
After installing Norton Ghost, began to do live-update and XP freezes Blaine B. Microsoft Windows and Software 4 04-23-2009 04:43 PM
Alright! Got my new E8500 Processor, need help installing King$nake New Systems | Building and Buying 6 04-18-2009 04:51 AM
BSOD in COD 5 (IRQ_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL) SPL Tech Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 04-15-2009 04:15 PM
Video card/driver causing BSOD superdave1984 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 02-20-2009 12:09 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.