Bsod? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-04-2008, 12:12 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 174
Send a message via AIM to Okitasoshi
Default Bsod?

I built a computer for my uncle a couple weeks ago and he's been telling me he's getting BSOD's fairly often, I went to check out his comp and sure enough after about 1 hour and working and installing stuff on his comp I get an error, and i get a different error when i try and reinstall windows.

Anyway I figured it's the 350Watt PoS Winsys PSU I got with the case. And just in case it's not the PSU tomorrow I'll be checking the Ram to check if it's the culprit.

Background on Comp:
Biostar TA780G
AMD BE-2300 Brisbane
Wintec AMPX 2GB

As you can see it's a very low requirement system. so I didn't think the PSU would have a problem running it.
__________________

Okitasoshi is offline  
Old 08-04-2008, 12:41 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: Bsod?

A crap PSU can cause some very strange errors, but so can other crap hardware.
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 08-04-2008, 12:46 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 174
Send a message via AIM to Okitasoshi
Default Re: Bsod?

yeah, that's what I was thinking. The Wintec AMPX came highly praised from many sites, so I'm shying away from that. And while it could be the Biostar motherboard...idk just seems to me like a messed up motherboard would cause more than a random Bsod. And I know Random Bsod's can occur when the power supply can't flow enough power to the parts. and it only seemed to happen when things heated up (~1 hour of operation).
Okitasoshi is offline  
Old 08-04-2008, 02:23 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: Bsod?

My bets are PSU or Mobo or both, I have always had some sort of issue with Biostar.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 08-04-2008, 02:26 AM   #5 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Bsod?

Did you check in Windows System Event Log yet?

First test the systems RAM like you said and the hard drive(s) before buying any new parts.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 08-04-2008, 03:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 174
Send a message via AIM to Okitasoshi
Default Re: Bsod?

It turns out is WAS the Ram, I put it in my computer and it totally messed everything up, stress tested it for 45 minutes, worked fine, then all of a sudden just took a dump all over my comp. RMA'ing it now, they were Wintec Ampx 2GB, the good kind with lifetime warranty =/
__________________

Okitasoshi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Major BSOD problems. IBM/PS1 Microsoft Windows and Software 3 08-01-2008 01:37 PM
x64 XP BSOD... PhikMan Microsoft Windows and Software 8 08-01-2008 02:24 AM
Bsod PC_Caveman Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 10 06-10-2008 03:31 PM
BSoD....hmmm.. out of idea's Payne99 Microsoft Windows and Software 8 05-27-2008 11:54 PM
Possible Hardware Issue? (w/ BSOD) mendriel Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 04-05-2008 02:42 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.