Bsod - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-13-2007, 07:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default Bsod

After about 10-15 minutes of internet or gaming use of the computer I get the BSOD saying Memory_management at the top of the screen. I just reformatted windows xp and it is a legit copy I bought retail so please help me out here. I will buy a new hard drive if I have to cause this one is clicking very loud. I am thinking about replacing the hard drive but if I don't have to I won't. I just want to get rid of this error and if I get rid of my 300gb hard drive it will be with a sledge hammer cause that always does the trick

The last BSOD message I just got was IRQL_Not_Less_or_equal

Nevermind I did some research on the IRQL error and found out its my cpu or memory overheating. Time to stop overclocking i guess.

I didn't get the BSOD and its been about 1 hour which is weird. The temps aren't that bad. cpu load is 45ºC. that isn't bad is it?
__________________

Norcent is offline  
Old 09-14-2007, 10:22 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 46
Send a message via ICQ to vpx_rodder Send a message via AIM to vpx_rodder Send a message via Yahoo to vpx_rodder
Default Re: Bsod

Not sure about the temps.... BUT...

If your hard drive is clicking loudly.... it might die soon. Usually that is caused by a "seek" problem, but you can run a diagnostic test on your hard drive, depending on which brand you have, that will tell you what's going on, if anything.

If it's a seek error though, generally that means it's going to go at some point.
__________________

vpx_rodder is offline  
Old 09-14-2007, 10:24 AM   #3 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: Bsod

get a new HD, your CPU temp is fine
Nick is offline  
Old 09-14-2007, 12:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Bsod

Remember, everything you deem to be important should be backed up in at least two different ways. Another Harddrive, Flash drive, or type of removeable disk, and hard copies, CD-R's and DVD-R's or otherwise.

This goes for everyone, not just the thread starter.....

For example.


You can see in this example of my setup that on the far left I have a large and tall rack of disks, containing, driver Disks, Games, Music Disks, and Data backup Disks, and more towards the middle of the image you can see I have a much small white rack on my desk with many BLANK CD-R's and DVD-R's in case of a crysis and just to the right of that I have a removeable hard Drive with all my Data Backed up.

I pride myself in being paranoid....
Ste is offline  
Old 09-14-2007, 04:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: Bsod

i never back up, all i have on my system is BF2 CoD and office, ok i supposee my music is backed up but apart from that
Nick is offline  
Old 09-14-2007, 05:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default Re: Bsod

I have everything backed up on 3 dvd's and on some websites cause I have too many discs. I have about 50 with just games that I bought at stores, 3 copies of CS:S, and 1 half life 2, ect. Its just cause I have 2 computers and some steam accounts are banned. I use my computers for lan parties when friends come over.
Norcent is offline  
Old 09-14-2007, 05:11 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Bsod

Heh i dont back up anything either. All of my music is also on my portable mp3 player and any of my "movies" would just need to be redownloaded, and should i lose a drive, its probably time to refresh my collection anyway
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 09-14-2007, 06:20 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default Re: Bsod

I just picked up a signal from one of my neighbors. Somebody around me has a wireless network. I tried to connect but it wouldn't connect me.
Norcent is offline  
Old 09-15-2007, 12:06 PM   #9 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: Bsod

its porbly in range so tht ur system can find it but not close enough to connect
Nick is offline  
Old 09-15-2007, 02:34 PM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default Re: Bsod

oh I see I didn't know that. If your system sees it, it should connect though cause if it can't connect then whats the point of having it show you your neighbor has a wireless network?
__________________

Norcent is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bsod srman Microsoft Windows and Software 5 09-12-2007 06:45 PM
BSOD problem dkim1985 Microsoft Windows and Software 50 08-19-2007 05:13 PM
AHCI causes BSOD 0x0000007B advancedgeek Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 07-10-2007 10:18 PM
BSOD Kernel_data_inpage_error apdrummer Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 05-06-2007 12:24 AM
Unmountable Boot Volume - BSoD Raj1991 Microsoft Windows and Software 6 04-03-2007 11:59 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.