Broken Video Card? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-08-2006, 01:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 6
Default Broken Video Card?

Hi I'm having trouble with my computer, I strongly think it is my video card but would like to have outside opinions on the matter before doing a purchase.

It all started yesterday when I opened my computer "your video card power cord is not connected please re-connect it" I look its connected. I shut down, deconnect reconnect. It works.

I wake up today open the thing, same darn thing.

I go to deplug replug I hit a small piece. Falls off (OK i know... its most likely this but would like if you continue reading anyways in case the current problem is something else)

Open the computer anywayz.

The screen is black with lines /redgreen/blue in a repetitive pattern across the screen.

Could it be something else than my video card?
__________________

Khanate is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 01:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default

Hello,

What cable are you unplugging and plugging back in? The VGA cable for your monitor?

Also, what is it that fell off, and from where?
__________________

__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 01:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 6
Default

The power supply cable that goes to my video card.

I am using a sapphire radeon 9800 pro 128 mb AGP by the way.

The piece is close to where the connector for the power supply is, not even an inch away, if you need more info on the precise location I can try to find a picture of my graphic card and locate the broken piece on it.

As far as the looks of the pieces goes. Its a black squared piece with 9 things sticking out (3 rows of 3) that are about as high as the bottom is wide. The width, height and length is about 3/8th of an inch of half a centimeter.

Under there is a white glue'ish thing that seems to hold the piece i described above to a piece that is black and flat with 2 white square on it.

Probably not that descriptive...
Khanate is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 02:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 6
Default

The connector is white and in the back of my video card by the way.

Does that mean its possible its also my PSU for the first problem that happened to me?

Because when i boot my PC it doesnt seem to be staled and the screens change at regular intervals which are similar in timing as to when the screen changes when I boot my PC normally.
Khanate is offline  
Old 08-09-2006, 11:23 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 6
Default

Please, I'd like to be able to buy my replacement parts today
Khanate is offline  
Old 08-09-2006, 01:28 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 351
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Khanate


As far as the looks of the pieces goes. Its a black squared piece with 9 things sticking out (3 rows of 3) that are about as high as the bottom is wide. The width, height and length is about 3/8th of an inch of half a centimeter.
[/B]
ya , are you talking about one of the chips that was on the board, if 1 of those fell off its a paperweight now
OatesyX is offline  
Old 08-09-2006, 01:46 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

ya its trash if that fell out there is nothing you can do to fix it its broken. most likley a RAMDAC chip or digital data converter its screwed start shopping .
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-09-2006, 03:56 PM   #8 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

Is this your card?
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 08-09-2006, 03:59 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bmxfreakrider
Is this your card?
neat little magic trick there that looks like the 9800 pro if om not mistakin. but if it was a ramdac chip there is no use just start shopping.
__________________

__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.