Broken Socket - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-31-2007, 11:55 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4
Angry Broken Socket

I was removing my CPU (an AMD socket 939) the other day and the most horrifying thing ever happened...

The socket came off with the CPU! And sadly, not in one piece. It shattered into many pieces.

In desperation, I went out and got a new motherboard, and plugged the CPU in and basically rebuilt, as the motherboard did not fit into the original chassis I had.

Now, I have this perfectly great chassis and mobo, but a shot socket. Is there a way to replace just the socket? I'd like to rebuild the old one with a new 939...but am worried my whole mobo is trashed.

Thanks!
__________________

msandiej is offline  
Old 01-31-2007, 12:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Congratulations!

http://techist.com/showthread.php?s=...ht=pins+hammer

http://techist.com/showthread.php?s=...p&pagenumber=1

http://techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=24345

If I understand his correctly, your new motherboard does not fit in your case?
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 01-31-2007, 01:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4
Default

Correct...I have a chassis that works for it, however...so I am up and running. The trick is, I hate to waste a good mobo if the old one can be repaired with a new socket...

What I would like to do is replace the socket in the mobo that has the broken one. Then, I can just get a new CPU and put the thing back together as another working PC.

So, really the question is...Is the socket replaceable? Or is the mobo shot because of a little broken piece of plastic?
msandiej is offline  
Old 01-31-2007, 02:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by msandiej
Correct...I have a chassis that works for it, however...so I am up and running. The trick is, I hate to waste a good mobo if the old one can be repaired with a new socket...

What I would like to do is replace the socket in the mobo that has the broken one. Then, I can just get a new CPU and put the thing back together as another working PC.

So, really the question is...Is the socket replaceable? Or is the mobo shot because of a little broken piece of plastic?
I don't think it can be repaired. Can you post a picture?
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 01-31-2007, 05:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Off Topic *****
 
Rundat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Gresham Oregon
Posts: 265
Default

I had a similar case to yours, I was just browsing one day and heard a loud crash. I walked over to my pc I saw my cpu heatsink on top of my graphic card lol. Anyway you can buy that plastic heatsink support thingy somewhere I just dont remember where, I think tigerdirect had it not quite sure.
__________________
Rundat is offline  
Old 01-31-2007, 06:38 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4
Default

Well, I've attached a picture of whats left of the poor little thing...I'll check tigerdirect.

If its what I'm looking for, it should be called a socket.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg socket.jpg (59.5 KB, 16 views)
msandiej is offline  
Old 01-31-2007, 06:39 PM   #7 (permalink)
Off Topic *****
 
Rundat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Gresham Oregon
Posts: 265
Default

ouch
__________________
Rundat is offline  
Old 01-31-2007, 06:40 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4
Default

Hahaha...yeah, no joke! The thing probably costs a whole 14cents to make, or less...but will kill your mobo in one fail swoop! I am, however, on a mission to make a repair.
__________________

msandiej is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.