Broken SATA HDD - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-27-2006, 03:41 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3
Default Broken SATA HDD

so my Western Digital SE Caviar 120GB (WD1200JD) hard drive crapped out on me.

i use it as a secondary hard drive and it has tons of valuable data. the hard drive turns on. i can feel it heat up, but the computer doesn't read it.

my mobo is an asus p4s800d-x. when i hook it up to my mobo and load up windows xp pro, it freezes. i tried a sata controller that i used to use and when i load up windows the loading bar goes extremely slow. with the sata controller, xp loads up but it still doesn't read the hard drive.

any suggestions other than throwing it away would be useful. that data on my hard drive is extremely important.
__________________

g0sp33dracr is offline  
Old 08-27-2006, 03:56 AM   #2 (permalink)
dcc
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 107
Default

One trick you could try is to double zip lock bag the hdd and put it in the freezer for about thiry minutes. Works for a short period of time with hdds that have problems spinning up.
__________________

dcc is offline  
Old 08-29-2006, 02:45 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3
Default

i alread tried that. theres this one site with 200 suggestions on how to fix your hard drive and they're all variations of the freeze-it-in-a-ziploc-baggie method.

right now i'm thinking about changing the pcb and bought the same hard drive on the internet. its kinda hard to find the exact same one from the same month tho.

if that doesnt' work, i'm gonna try and change the platters, which no one really knows for sure if it works. some people say that it does, but most of its hearsay.
i'm gonna say that its about 5% chance of working without screwing up the platters.

any comments would be helpful at this moment.
g0sp33dracr is offline  
Old 08-29-2006, 08:36 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 351
Default

erm im pretty sure you need a clean room to change platters of a hd, im sure theres companys on the web which offer professional repair for hds, google my friend , google
__________________
E6300 Core 2 Duo
GA-965P-DS3
2 Gbs OCZ PLatinum 800Mhz
250 Gb Western Digital
OCZ Modsteam 450W
7900GT Gainward
Flux Capacitor....SWEEEET
OatesyX is offline  
Old 08-29-2006, 09:54 AM   #5 (permalink)
dcc
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 107
Default

R.I.P.
dcc is offline  
Old 08-29-2006, 07:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 207
Default

I saw a video of a dude that opened the top off a drive, put it on his desk, turned it on and windows saw it. He then proceeded to start opening files off of it. This went on for 15min+ still without a head crash. Very interesting stuff so this whole changing of platters might have a better success rate than we all thought?
You say "valuable data" then you should be trying this stuff yourself, you need to send it out to one of the many data recovery companies.
poorman is offline  
Old 08-29-2006, 09:41 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

If you get like one spec of dirt on the platters then it will screw up.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 08-30-2006, 05:38 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3
Default

well, problem w/ sending it to professionals is that i'm poor.

and you don't necessarily need a clean room, just a good work area thats not dirty. ex. garage.

getting one spec of dirt, lint, or random pieces of crap shouldn't be the biggest worry. if you work in a garage there's not gonna be much of that. its where you have to transfer the platters when it gets tricky.

thx for the replies. i think i'm pretty much good for now w/ these past few days researching on google.
g0sp33dracr is offline  
Old 08-30-2006, 07:45 AM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Your garage must be different than my garage...my garage has dirt, gunk, grime, grease...everywhere! lol
__________________

__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.