broken cpu - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-02-2007, 08:36 AM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 238
Default broken cpu

Hi,

So I just got my E6600, and while opening the box the cpu falls out. The black protector thing was protecting the pins, so those are fine and it landed on the top metal part. So do you think it will still work, it fell from regualr dining table height, or should I RMA it, to be safe? I dont really want to rma as i just did with my videocard and dont want to wait more, im ****sed off because i just took off the cover and it fell off. Please respond asap.
__________________

xtpacygax is offline  
Old 02-02-2007, 08:40 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

I would think it`d be ok only one way to find out setup your pc run prime95 for a few hours even if its broken then you can still RMA it.
__________________

__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 02-02-2007, 08:41 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 421
Default

The top metal part can take a little pressure, after all it's fairly safe to scratch it with a screwdriver even (not that I tried )... The shock could have damaged it though, with all the magnetic stuff going on inside there and what not. I'd say it depends where you got it from whether you should RMA or not. If they just replace it no questions asked then go for it. If they test the cpu and bill you $30 if they didn't find anything then... well, then still do it. You don't want to get your system ****ed just in case, because if you put in a damaged cpu it can be hazardous to your system.

P.S.: that's why I always unpack my stuff on my bed.
Phrantic is offline  
Old 02-02-2007, 09:00 AM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 238
Default

I got it from Newegg, but last time I RMA'd something it took like a week, so i havnt been able to build my system yet, but i guess i will rma just to be safe.
xtpacygax is offline  
Old 02-02-2007, 09:53 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 421
Default

A week is nothing. When I RMA'd my motherboard with Alternate (European hardware retailer) it took a month. >_<
Phrantic is offline  
Old 02-02-2007, 09:58 AM   #6 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

It will work.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 02-02-2007, 12:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
Enterprise SCCM\SCOM
 
jseber1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 904
Send a message via ICQ to jseber1982 Send a message via AIM to jseber1982 Send a message via Yahoo to jseber1982
Default

try it out and see.... only way to find out. i am sure it is fine, doesnt have any moving parts. If it was a hard drive, i would say you screwed yourself, but i am sure you are fine
jseber1982 is offline  
Old 02-02-2007, 06:02 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 238
Default

I am just going to RMA it just because it might work at first but then in a month or so I might see problems. Can I just tell Newegg that it was defective and then get a replacement, or will they check out the cpu to see if it is so. How should I go about RMAing this one.
xtpacygax is offline  
Old 02-02-2007, 06:12 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

It's hard to imagine it was damaged. Install in and run it for 30 dyas and if it becomes defective newegg will give you another!
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 02-02-2007, 06:43 PM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 238
Default

But do I just tell Newegg that I dropped it or what? Won't they say oh it is your fault you dropped it or something. I guess I will try it but I still have to wait for my video card to arrive anyways.
__________________

xtpacygax is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.