Brand new MSI K8N Neo4 Platinum/Sli..HELP - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-18-2006, 12:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 152
Send a message via AIM to samuraiwarrior
Default Brand new MSI K8N Neo4 Platinum/Sli..HELP

The board is a brand new replacment from msi and it runs throught the post and stops without booting at initializing floppy drive and controller. Plz help me i want to go back to gaming.
I get no video at all. i have a EVGA 6600gt
and i cant get a video signal at all. tried s-cable and vga output too.*(i use DVI on my 19''Lcd)

Why me!? its been freaking 2 months that msi had my board then returned it to me on monday. still wont past the post process.
should i rma my video card?
or am i not suppose to get video until after the post test D-bracket 4 leds are all green?
__________________

samuraiwarrior is offline  
Old 01-18-2006, 12:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 969
Default

Have you tried a different CPU or RAM?
__________________

__________________
<br><br><font color=\"black\"><b>There's No Place Like </b></font><font color=\"red\"><b>127.0.0.1</b></font><br>
AnthraX is offline  
Old 01-18-2006, 01:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 182
Default

SW...
That is why you shouldn't RMA a mobo unless you are almost certain that is the problem. A lot of posters here are too quick to recommend "RMA the board"...... in most cases, it isn't the board.
Did you get any 'beep codes' during POST??
If not, go into your BIOS and verify the settings of your
IDE s( Fpp,Hdd,etc.) and your Video components.
* MSI link......
http://www.msicomputer.com/support/sup_tshoot.asp
__________________
Sig reinstated.
JKnPA is offline  
Old 01-18-2006, 03:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Have you reset the CMOS on the board?
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 01-18-2006, 03:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 152
Send a message via AIM to samuraiwarrior
Default

Tried all of thee above.
but i dont get any video so cant go into bios.
also i have no speaker on this board to listen for beeps.
samuraiwarrior is offline  
Old 01-18-2006, 06:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by samuraiwarrior
Tried all of thee above.
but i dont get any video so cant go into bios.
also i have no speaker on this board to listen for beeps.
You have diagnostic post LED's that plug into the board with the optional USB thingy don't you?
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 01-19-2006, 07:35 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 152
Send a message via AIM to samuraiwarrior
Default

yeah thats why it doesnt bootup because it wont past the post test.
it stops at initializing floppy drive and controller.
so now i need to get a new board again. they say i can get an advanced replacement so im going to do that later today. I sure hope its he motherboar and nothing else. cuz im tired of RMA's. any chance video card is to blam?
i get no video after the post tester pasts the vga bios boot up and initialization/. i think i should at least see the bios splash screen during final stages of post rite?
well i g2g im in school.
__________________

samuraiwarrior is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.