brand new hard drive - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-16-2007, 08:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default brand new hard drive

I just bought a samsung 300gb pata hard drive. I put it in my computer and it only reads 31.4gb. 32248mb. Should I return the hard drive back where I bought it? Is there a way to get it to read 300gb?
__________________

Norcent is offline  
Old 10-16-2007, 08:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 26
Default Re: brand new hard drive

I've heard of this happening before, but only when it was simply the wrong hard drive. So I'd return it.
__________________

mossygiraffe is offline  
Old 10-16-2007, 08:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: brand new hard drive

Quote:
Originally Posted by mossygiraffe View Post
I've heard of this happening before, but only when it was simply the wrong hard drive. So I'd return it.
Wrong. Partition it under Computer Management.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 10-16-2007, 09:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default Re: brand new hard drive

how? when I tried to partition it under disk management it only read 32248mb.

You go to computer management and then to disk management right? If not how do I do it? step by step.
Norcent is offline  
Old 10-16-2007, 09:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: brand new hard drive

Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
how? when I tried to partition it under disk management it only read 32248mb.

You go to computer management and then to disk management right? If not how do I do it? step by step.
Try to "acquire" a copy of Partition Magic 8.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 10-16-2007, 09:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default Re: brand new hard drive

I think I just fixed it. I saw on another forum it has a jumper that will make it read 32gb. I thought it was in master but it needs 2 jumpers to be in master. My bad. Sorry guys.

I never thought a jumper could do such a thing.
Norcent is offline  
Old 10-16-2007, 09:12 PM   #7 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: brand new hard drive

You're lucky it didn't short.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 10-16-2007, 09:15 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default Re: brand new hard drive

what??? it could short?

In slave it still reads 32gb.

I tried master and still 32gb.

What should I do? is it possible to read 300gb? I even tried maxtors maxblast software but it didn't work with this hard drive cause it had an error message and wouldn't even get to the screen to where I could erase the drive to manufacture settings.
Norcent is offline  
Old 10-17-2007, 06:40 AM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default Re: brand new hard drive

please help me guys.
Norcent is offline  
Old 10-17-2007, 03:59 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default Re: brand new hard drive

Try to use a win98 boot disk to boot with at the A: type fdisk.
Then select show all partitions. Then select the option to delete all dos partitions and all non dos partitions you want to delete everything and then when done select create active partition and see if that fixes it up.
__________________

sPlAtOiD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP!! My hard drive will not boot! ehc68 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 15 01-29-2009 04:33 PM
Hard drive randomly disappearing Gooms9 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 11 05-18-2007 08:19 PM
Hard drive fails File Structure test tropicalfish Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 05-15-2007 01:37 PM
Help a newb: simple issue with hard drive copying? AppleBag Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-12-2007 01:21 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.