Bought loadsa expensive parts and my pc is still slow! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-27-2008, 10:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 162
Default Bought loadsa expensive parts and my pc is still slow!

Ok well first let me list my specifications

AMD SEMPRON 3000+
1.5GB DDR400
1x250GB Maxtor
1x100GB HD Seagate
7600GS AGP 8x
550W Cooler Master Extreme Power
2 Case fans

Ok well my quest started of by me wanting to run BF2 on medium graphics perfectly. I upgraded my 9700pro to a nvidia 7600 gs - which is pretty good for an AGP slot, I noticed a slight increase in frames but there was no way i could run it on medium, i came to the conclusion i had to upgrade my PSU (i had some cheap 400 watt that came with a 15 dollar case) so I buy myself a $60AUD psu (cooler master).
I noticed improvement, slightly better than before, but i still cannot play bf2 on medium.

The thing is even if its the cpu or something I really dont want to spend more money on it, because at that rate i could have bought a new PCIE pc for 200$ more than i have spent so far.

Any ideas of what i could do would be appreciated. ty.
__________________

lea0001 is offline  
Old 01-27-2008, 10:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Bought loadsa expensive parts and my pc is still slow!

Somtimes A format and reinstall cures all.

You do keep windows up to date, regular anti virus and spyware sweeps along with defrag right?

I would suggest a format and reinstallation of windows if you added alot of new parts..
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 01-27-2008, 11:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 162
Default Re: Bought loadsa expensive parts and my pc is still slow!

m ok, do you think that a PC with that spec should be able to run BF2 on full medium?
lea0001 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.