Boots, Then Screen Goes Black - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-30-2006, 03:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 9
Default Boots, Then Screen Goes Black


I'm having a weird problem here. A friend just gave me his computer to fix, and, well, it isn't going so well. What happens is, the computer will boot, look for bootable devices, and then once it finds one, the screen will just go black.

For example, I put the Windows XP cd in. The computer recognizes it, asks if I want to boot from CD, I press a key, and then it sounds like the CDROM drive is reading the disc. Then, the screen just goes black. I get the same results with bootable floppies.

The "black" i'm describing isn't the kind of black you get when you monitor doesn't get a signal. The monitor still has a signal, but the computer seems like it just freezes up.

What I've tried:

-clearing CMOS (using jumpers and by removing the battery for 15 mins)
-using a differend HDD (didn't help). This drive also had a working OS on it, and still didn't do anything.

Any ideas on what's going on? Thanks.

Lul2x is offline  
Old 09-30-2006, 03:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
CrazeD's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD

Try a different video card.


Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 09-30-2006, 05:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 9

Originally posted by CrazeD
Try a different video card.
K, tried it and it didn't change anything...
Lul2x is offline  
Old 10-02-2006, 05:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 9

any other suggestions?
Lul2x is offline  
Old 10-02-2006, 11:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K

cmos battery might be dead
try a different stick of RAM
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:28 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.