BOOTMGR is missing Press Ctrl+Alt+Del to restart - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-28-2010, 10:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
roweder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 170
Default BOOTMGR is missing Press Ctrl+Alt+Del to restart

Ok, so I swapped out my older power suppy for a newer, much more powerful one, and I got this message upon starting up my computer, and with the new power supply I haven't been able to get it to start up. I have used this power supply and this motherboard together before, but in a larger case, and I have never gotten this error before, please if someone could let me know what's causing this, that would be great.

Thanks in advance,

-Derek



Some other info that may help resolve the problem:

The motherboard is an ASUS P5N-D
the power supply is a 1600 watt by Ultra
they have been successfully used together, just not in this smaller case
the error looks like this when I get it:

BOOTMGR is missing
Press Ctrl+Alt+Del to restart


This comes after the picture/logo of the ASUS P5N-D motherboard

and I'm typing this on my iPod.
__________________

roweder is offline  
Old 02-28-2010, 10:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
orihS ‪‪‪Shiro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 612
Default Re: BOOTMGR is missing Press Ctrl+Alt+Del to restart

Is your 8-pin/4-pin connector in the motherboard?

Have you tried resetting your BIOS?
(Probably won't help, but might.)

Is power hooked up to your hard drive?

Is your hard drive hooked to the motherboard?

Sorry if these are irritating questions or anything, but you gotta cover the basics to know where you're at, in long distance tech support.
__________________

__________________
__________________________________________________ ____________________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
orihS ‪‪‪Shiro is offline  
Old 02-28-2010, 10:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
 
iFargle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 4,028
Default Re: BOOTMGR is missing Press Ctrl+Alt+Del to restart

You can stick your Vista / 7 disc in and repair the installation that way.

Hirens Boot CD is a good CD to do that with, too.

Also, make sure your hard drive is plugged in the right sATA port. That could be an issue.
__________________
7700k 32GB RAM 512GB 960 Pro GTX 1080 NCase M1
15" Retina MBP || 64GB Nexus 6P || 64GB iPad Air 2
Battle.net: iFargle #1561 || Steam/Origin: iFargle
iFargle is offline  
Old 02-28-2010, 10:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
roweder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 170
Default Re: BOOTMGR is missing Press Ctrl+Alt+Del to restart

So it's probobly got to do with the motherboards connection with the hard drive? That's probobly the issue, I don't think I plugged it into the same data port, and I think it has a preferred boot sata, I'll try changing it's prefered boot device to sata 1, that's the port I plugged it into.

Edit: well, that didn't do anything, and it recognizes the hard drives and the cd drive, the bios has been updated since changing the power supply, but I don't know how to reset it...

I just reseated all of the connections to the hard drive, power and data.
roweder is offline  
Old 02-28-2010, 10:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
orihS ‪‪‪Shiro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 612
Default Re: BOOTMGR is missing Press Ctrl+Alt+Del to restart

Yeah, try that out.
Let us know how it goes.
Also, if that doesn't work, try plugging the HDD into the port it came from.
(You didn't hot plug anything, right?)*

*Hot Plugging=unplugging/plugging in a hard drive without turning power to the system off.
It doesn't cause a problem with SATA HDD's usually, but it usually shorts out and destroys old IDE drives.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ____________________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
orihS ‪‪‪Shiro is offline  
Old 02-28-2010, 10:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
roweder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 170
Default Re: BOOTMGR is missing Press Ctrl+Alt+Del to restart

Quote:
Originally Posted by orihS ‪‪‪Shiro View Post
Have you tried resetting your BIOS?
(Probably won't help, but might.)
hahahahahaha shebang dude, probobly won't help, it helped alright!!!!! I clicked load default settings, and it started right up
roweder is offline  
Old 02-28-2010, 10:56 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
orihS ‪‪‪Shiro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 612
Default Re: BOOTMGR is missing Press Ctrl+Alt+Del to restart

Quote:
Originally Posted by roweder View Post
hahahahahaha shebang dude, probobly won't help, it helped alright!!!!! I clicked load default settings, and it started right up
Lol, congratz.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ____________________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
orihS ‪‪‪Shiro is offline  
Old 02-28-2010, 11:10 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
roweder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 170
Default Re: BOOTMGR is missing Press Ctrl+Alt+Del to restart

Quote:
Originally Posted by orihS ‪‪‪Shiro View Post
Yeah, try that out.
Let us know how it goes.
Also, if that doesn't work, try plugging the HDD into the port it came from.
(You didn't hot plug anything, right?)*

*Hot Plugging=unplugging/plugging in a hard drive without turning power to the system off.
It doesn't cause a problem with SATA HDD's usually, but it usually shorts out and destroys old IDE drives.
Thank you all for the very fast and meaningful replies, you all have been a great help to me, and I'm very glad I found this awesome forum with loads of awesome members. Thanks again and I'm glad it was such an easy fix, and btw, I did not know that you could hot plug SATA hard drives, we called it hot swapping in cisco class, I've never tried it, except one time I accidentally unplugged my C: (sATA) drive while the computer was running... And got the BSOD lol what a coincidence.

Thanks again guys,

-Derek
__________________

roweder is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A Guide to Installing Apache, PHP, MySQL, and PHPMyAdmin on Windows CrazeD Programming 25 05-10-2010 01:31 PM
wierd internet problem...only works in safe mode! krazyq HijackThis Logs (finished) 4 06-29-2009 09:19 AM
My Dell computer is infected tamdiaz HijackThis Logs (finished) 13 04-01-2009 11:14 PM
Explorer.exe CRASHES INSTANTLY =( [F] wootwoot HijackThis Logs (finished) 28 07-15-2008 02:47 PM
Please Analyse, ethernet controller no longer working...[P] djmaddogfreak HijackThis Logs (finished) 16 07-04-2008 10:05 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.