Booting Up - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-07-2006, 09:05 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3
Default Booting Up

Hello all. I just moved my computer from one side of the room to the other and when I went to power up, the fans kicked on for about a sec or so and stopped and the light on the front started blinking. It was working fine before I moved it. Any ideas what the prob could be? Thank you in advance for your time.

I have searched the forum but it seems like anyone else with a similar problem had just built their pc and was firing it up for the 1st time.

scottastrophik is offline  
Old 01-07-2006, 11:04 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
Alvin.C's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,578
Default Re:


Okay...if you plug your PC back to the power socket it was connected to before, or to another power socket, does it work...?

You've probably knocked a wire or component out of place. Have a look inside your PC and check to see that everything is connected properly.

It could also be a grounding issue.


|Desktop PC| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 8.1 Pro (x64)| |AMD FX 4100 Black Edition 3.6 GHz @ 4.0 GHz OC| |Arctic Cooling Freezer 13 PRO| |Gigabyte Nvidia GeForce GTX 560 Super Overclock 1GB| |ASUS M5A78L-M/USB3 Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD SATA III HDD| |Kingston HyperX 8GB PC3-14900 DDR3-1866| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 01-07-2006, 07:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3

Thanks for your response. I unhooked everything from the power supply except the MB and the floppy and the power kicked on. As soon as I connected a HD it went back to starting up and crashing out. Would that mean its the power supply? If so why would somethings power only (just curious)?
scottastrophik is offline  
Old 01-07-2006, 10:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3

I bought anew power supply, it works now.
scottastrophik is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:17 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.