Booting problems. ehhhh - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-11-2006, 06:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 59
Send a message via AIM to pukgandi
Default Booting problems. ehhhh

When i start up my computer the bios doesnt beep and nothing shows up on the monitor. Worked fine last night. Im going out to buy a new battery right now. Posting this for if the battery isnt the case. so... any ideas?
__________________

pukgandi is offline  
Old 12-11-2006, 06:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default

check the RAm for any errors by using microsoft Memtest, or ur PSU might be dying on u.

can post ur pc specs
__________________

__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 12-12-2006, 03:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 59
Send a message via AIM to pukgandi
Default

Mobo: GA-k8nxp sli
ram: 2x 512 pc3200 kingston valueram
GFX: EVGA nvidia 7800 gt
250 gb seagate
Thermaltake silent purepower psu
3800+ amd athlon 64

Ive changed my cmos battery, unplugged everything except video card and psu and processor but still nothing. Everything turns on just the motherboard doesnt beep and nothing shows up on the monitor.

It would be nice if this was a psu issue, but how could that be the cause if everything is still running?
pukgandi is offline  
Old 12-12-2006, 04:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
LA1
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: eastcoast
Posts: 453
Default

ok lets take it from the beginning.

You turn on the pc, do the indicator lights come on on the front of the pc ?
do you here any fans ?
does the indicator on the monitor stay yellow or does it change to green ?

You might want to try pulling the plug on the power supply and remove your ram. Do NOT put the ram back in. Plug in the power supply and turn the pc back on. A healthy system will start beeping, complaining that there is no ram. Make sure to pull the plug before putting the ram back. Most PC stores like COMPUSA or mail order pc stores have power supply testers for ATX 24 and 26 pin power supplies. They are usually around $25.
__________________
LA1 is offline  
Old 12-12-2006, 04:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

List All components. (Specifics on Power supply Needed, unless already done)
List the cooling setup and heatsink.
When did this problem start?
Did you add any new software or hardware as of Late?

Dissconnect all components except CPU, Video card and One Stick of RAM. Clear the CMOS by removing the small coin like battery for Two Minutes. Remove the motherboard from the case and place it on a hard non-conductive surface.

Turn it on and if it POSTs, Shut down, put it back in the case, add one component and repeat the process until it no longer boots. The Component that was added last most likely caused the Non-POST and should be RMAed and or Replaced.

Report Back.


(lol)
Ste is offline  
Old 12-12-2006, 04:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by sylwek
check the RAm for any errors by using microsoft Memtest, or ur PSU might be dying on u.

can post ur pc specs
OMG! Memtest86+ is NOT made by Microsoft.
The General is offline  
Old 12-12-2006, 05:52 PM   #7 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 59
Send a message via AIM to pukgandi
Default

Well, everything seems to be working but my mobo. Ram, vga, cpu, and psu were all working currectly. So im ordering a new mobo and rmaing my current one. Thanks all for your help.
pukgandi is offline  
Old 12-13-2006, 05:00 PM   #8 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by The General
OMG! Memtest86+ is NOT made by Microsoft.
Bro !!RELAX!!

i didnt say Memtest86+ , i said Microsoft Memtest A.K.A Microsoft Memory Diagnostic tests
http://www.softpedia.com/get/Tweak/M...agnostic.shtml
__________________

__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.