boot up problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-02-2006, 06:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 222
Default boot up problem

Sometimes when I boot up right before the windows xp logo with the loading bar underneath comes up my computer freezes with a blank screen!!!

I have 2gb, Asus p4s800D-X motherboard, 600gb hard drive, xfx geforce 6600 256mb graphics card.


As soon as the xfx geforce 6600 256mb was inserted into my computer thats when the freezing at the boot up screen started.

It never did that before I got that xfx geforce 6600 256mb so what should I do?
__________________

ikillyou61 is offline  
Old 02-02-2006, 07:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

What power supply wattage rating? You need to reseat that card and make sure it is powered correctly. 6600gt/6800gt's are power hogs. Sounds to me like your PSU isn't up to the task.
__________________

__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 02-02-2006, 07:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

as suggested check the power first. failing that i'm thinking drivers as it starts freezing at windows boot. so next check the drivers. but also if the card isn't seated properly it has been known to freeze here.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 02-02-2006, 07:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 222
Default

ok I have a 550w power supply and I am only using 2 300gb hard drives, motherboard, cd rom drive, 3 fans, and I don't know if this matters but I have 2gb of ram too
ikillyou61 is offline  
Old 02-02-2006, 08:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

Reseat the video card. Unistall all Nvidia drives and completely clean the registry. Reinstall the lastest Nvidia drivers and test your system......if that fails......then we'll have to loot at PSU, Run memtest or windows memory test and start swtiching parts aoround in another computer to find the culprit part or parts. Just because you have a 550wt PSU doesn't mean that the 12v rail voltage isn't all over the place after installing that video card. Try the driver issue first.
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 02-03-2006, 06:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 222
Default

for some reason it hasn't come up anymore and I didn't even do anything since my last post
__________________

ikillyou61 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.