boot up problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-03-2005, 06:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 45
Send a message via AIM to silentassassin
Default boot up problem

all of a suddem my computer has decided to freeze at startup(before windows takes over) at verifying DMI pool data

i did some research last night and it says it can be many things...i checked the connection, jumper setting, bios, all of that and it's all correct..what could it be...also it never did this before
__________________

silentassassin is offline  
Old 11-03-2005, 07:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 474
Default

That happened to me before. i reinstall windows and everything worked fine.
__________________

nuke is offline  
Old 11-03-2005, 07:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,706
Default

you might check the ram??

I agree with nuke, but if you need to back up stuff, try to do a repair first

then once you have everything saved, reinstall it *like new
Juice Daddy is offline  
Old 11-03-2005, 07:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 45
Send a message via AIM to silentassassin
Default

tried repair...didn't work...i am gonna reinstall tonight just hoping i don't lose all my stuff on my other hd...i think i got a virus...cuz i first lost the ctrl+alt+del function...then files started missing...then it shut down...so i restarted and got that
silentassassin is offline  
Old 11-04-2005, 08:52 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,706
Default

if you do a reinstall, (partition and format) then you will loose all your data...

can you put your hard drive in another computer and take the files you need off and back them up somewhere else?
Juice Daddy is offline  
Old 11-04-2005, 09:34 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 274
Send a message via ICQ to smartech
Default

When it is "verifying DMI pool data" it actually reads the boot info. So it maby HD problem, but most likely it is problem with windows (boot sequence files), witch could be the result of some virus work. Happened to me once...

Most probably your only solution is reinstall windows, but also try to repair functions included on the windows CD (boot with it, and select repair).

You can back up using your HD on other PC or installing another OS on secondary HD (if you have one) and connecting it as primary or use Linux Live CD to boot and backup than.
__________________
smartech is offline  
Old 11-04-2005, 09:56 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 319
Default

boot off of your xp cd , go to the repair console...you will need your admin password, if it is configured. use the fixboot option
tractorboy is offline  
Old 11-04-2005, 10:02 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 45
Send a message via AIM to silentassassin
Default

i got it fixed...i just reinstalled xp pro....thnx guys
__________________

silentassassin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.