boot problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-22-2006, 08:48 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 178
Default boot problems

Hi Just recently build a new rig, specs are:

AMD Athlon 64 San Diego 3700
Gigabyte K8N Pro SLi nForce4 SLi (Socket 939) PCI-Express
1GB (2x512MB) PC3200 184pin DDR Memory Dual Channel
PowerColor ATI Radeon X800 GTO 128MB DDR TV-Out/DVI (PCI-Express)
80gb SATA Seagate HDD
dvd-rw drive

Right i placed the Windows XP disc in for the first time, it formatted fine, restarted etc. But then it went straight back into the same thing after it restarted, no windows installer. I have no idea why. The cd-drve is in the ide slot 1, and the hdd is in the SATA slot 1. The boot process is: hdd, cd-drive.

Help please
__________________

__________________
AMD Sempron 2500+
ASRock K7S41GX Motherboard
1gb DDR Ram (PC2700)
80gb SGB Hard Drive(OS)
40gb Maxtor Hard Drive
PNY GeForce 6600GT AGP 128MB
5.1 Creative Surround Sound System
SamBarry is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 09:07 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 118
Default

After the computer restarted did you take the CD out?
That would be the only thing I could think of...
__________________

__________________
<img src=\"http://img226.imageshack.us/img226/5283/tfsig25hj.jpg\" border=\"0\" width=\"350\" alt=\"Electric Shock Is For Losers\" />

<img src=\"http://img472.imageshack.us/img472/1782/userbars6jt.gif\" border=\"0\" width=\"350\" alt=\"Userbars by me, PM if you want me to make you some. =D\" />
ESIFL is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 09:09 AM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Did you install your SATA drivers before you installed Windows? Does your BIOS show the drive?
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 09:09 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 178
Default

Nope, didnt touch anything. Just let it restartm then it just went straight into the 'checking system configuration' and into the reformatting process again.
__________________
AMD Sempron 2500+
ASRock K7S41GX Motherboard
1gb DDR Ram (PC2700)
80gb SGB Hard Drive(OS)
40gb Maxtor Hard Drive
PNY GeForce 6600GT AGP 128MB
5.1 Creative Surround Sound System
SamBarry is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 09:12 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 118
Default

IIRC after everything is all said and done, and your computer restarts you have to take out the CD, and what is installed on you hard drive takes it from there.
__________________
<img src=\"http://img226.imageshack.us/img226/5283/tfsig25hj.jpg\" border=\"0\" width=\"350\" alt=\"Electric Shock Is For Losers\" />

<img src=\"http://img472.imageshack.us/img472/1782/userbars6jt.gif\" border=\"0\" width=\"350\" alt=\"Userbars by me, PM if you want me to make you some. =D\" />
ESIFL is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 09:16 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 178
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Trotter
Did you install your SATA drivers before you installed Windows? Does your BIOS show the drive?
I dont think it does....how do i install the drive?
__________________
AMD Sempron 2500+
ASRock K7S41GX Motherboard
1gb DDR Ram (PC2700)
80gb SGB Hard Drive(OS)
40gb Maxtor Hard Drive
PNY GeForce 6600GT AGP 128MB
5.1 Creative Surround Sound System
SamBarry is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 09:38 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 118
Default

My SATA drive didn't have to be installed. IDK.
__________________
<img src=\"http://img226.imageshack.us/img226/5283/tfsig25hj.jpg\" border=\"0\" width=\"350\" alt=\"Electric Shock Is For Losers\" />

<img src=\"http://img472.imageshack.us/img472/1782/userbars6jt.gif\" border=\"0\" width=\"350\" alt=\"Userbars by me, PM if you want me to make you some. =D\" />
ESIFL is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 10:54 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 45
Default Re: boot problems

Quote:
Originally posted by SamBarry
Hi Just recently build a new rig, specs are:

AMD Athlon 64 San Diego 3700
Gigabyte K8N Pro SLi nForce4 SLi (Socket 939) PCI-Express
1GB (2x512MB) PC3200 184pin DDR Memory Dual Channel
PowerColor ATI Radeon X800 GTO 128MB DDR TV-Out/DVI (PCI-Express)
80gb SATA Seagate HDD
dvd-rw drive

Right i placed the Windows XP disc in for the first time, it formatted fine, restarted etc. But then it went straight back into the same thing after it restarted, no windows installer. I have no idea why. The cd-drve is in the ide slot 1, and the hdd is in the SATA slot 1. The boot process is: hdd, cd-drive.

Help please

I thought that your CD drive had to be the first bootable device when loading windows and your HDD second.
jake14430 is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 11:34 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 178
Default

argh this is ****ing me off now...i tried the diskwizard on the seagate site....cd-rw doesnt work, floppy doesnt work. cd-r doesnt work.

__________________
AMD Sempron 2500+
ASRock K7S41GX Motherboard
1gb DDR Ram (PC2700)
80gb SGB Hard Drive(OS)
40gb Maxtor Hard Drive
PNY GeForce 6600GT AGP 128MB
5.1 Creative Surround Sound System
SamBarry is offline  
Old 01-23-2006, 02:12 AM   #10 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Quote:
I dont think it does....how do i install the drive?
Download the SATA drivers from here:
http://us.giga-byte.com/Motherboard/...%20Pro-SLI.htm

Put them on a floppy. Hit F6 during installation to install them. Without them, your mobo can't see your hard drive.

Here's a link to the manual:
http://america.giga-byte.com/MotherB...ultrasli_e.pdf
You'll notice that the first half or so of it deals with SATA drives and drivers.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.