Boot Problem with 8GB's Of RAM :( - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-29-2008, 09:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Central, TX
Posts: 28
Send a message via Yahoo to JustinTime91
Default Boot Problem with 8GB's Of RAM :(

Hello All, I know this is a VERY big problem for many of people, but I did what they said worked for them, but I'm still having problems. Ok I am running Vista Ultimate 64-bit, I have all my drivers, tested the RAM with memtest 86 (no problems), The RAM is OCZ Nvidia Sli-Ready 800MHZ (2GB's each stick). I can boot up into Vista using 2 sticks (4GB's), And when I add one more stick (6GB's total), I only can reach the bios, but Vista will not ever boot up. And When I add the last stick, the computer cuts on, but nothing shows up (black screen). So I tested all the RAM ports, and all four are working, I also then boosted the RAM Voltage from 1.8V to 2.2V, And I also changed the NB Voltage from 1.1V to 1.4V, Nothing happened!!! So I underclocked my RAM from 800MHZ to 667MHZ, nothing happened...Again. I also noticed, I can add all the RAM sticks, when the computer is already running, and it don't blue-screen then, but in my computer, it still shows 4096MB's of RAM (4GB's). I even called OCZ, and ASUS (my MoBo Manafacturer), and they didn't even know more than me. So, if anyone knows the solution, I would GREATLY appreciate it!!! -Thanks, God Bless. -Justin

My Specs:
Asus P5Q-E MoBo (With Latest Bios)
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 2.5
2x 500GB Seagate Barracuda HDD's
Windows Vista Ultimate 32-bit/64-bit (dual-boot)
PNY Nvidia GeForce 9600GT GPU
Logistics 550W Acrylic PSU
OCZ Nvidia Sli-Ready 4x2GB 800MHZ
__________________

JustinTime91 is offline  
Old 09-29-2008, 10:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Boot Problem with 8GB's Of RAM :(

That much RAM might need more power on your RAM, NB and SB.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 09-30-2008, 01:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Central, TX
Posts: 28
Send a message via Yahoo to JustinTime91
Default Re: Boot Problem with 8GB's Of RAM :(

Quote:
Originally Posted by patonb View Post
That much RAM might need more power on your RAM, NB and SB.
Thats what I think the problem is, but I went from 1.8V to 2.2V on RAM, and I went from 1.1V to 1.4V, on the NB. But still the same problems, and I'm kinda scared to keep going up on Volts, because I don't really know what's my limits. Also I just noticed there is a sticker on my RAM. two of the RAM's say "4-4-4 @ 2.1V", and my other 2 sticks say "5-4-4 @ 2.1V" So I set the Voltage up to 2.1V, and it still didn't work, but should I set the timing in my bios to 5-4-4, and 4-4-4? But I don't even know which setting to change for the timings. So do you think I should add more Voltage to any other hardware? Or Up The RAM or NB Voltage even more? Thanks.
JustinTime91 is offline  
Old 09-30-2008, 01:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Boot Problem with 8GB's Of RAM :(

Hmmm, thoses volts i think are for the average build.... maybe push abit higher of 2.2.

What uis your MB?
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 09-30-2008, 02:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Central, TX
Posts: 28
Send a message via Yahoo to JustinTime91
Default Re: Boot Problem with 8GB's Of RAM :(

Quote:
Originally Posted by patonb View Post
Hmmm, thoses volts i think are for the average build.... maybe push abit higher of 2.2.

What uis your MB?
Well my MoBo is an ASUS P5Q-E, I also ensured that I have the latest drivers. Ok I'll probaly attempt to bump the Voltage from 2.2 up to maybe 2.3. Because once I set it to 2.3 or higher the font turns from yellow to red (I guess letting me know it could get more dangerous temps). Thanks.
JustinTime91 is offline  
Old 09-30-2008, 03:19 PM   #6 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Boot Problem with 8GB's Of RAM :(

Setting the voltage higher than 2.2 will shorten the life of your RAM so be careful.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 09-30-2008, 05:02 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Central, TX
Posts: 28
Send a message via Yahoo to JustinTime91
Default Re: Boot Problem with 8GB's Of RAM :(

Oh ok, thanks, nevermind I won't mess with anymore RAM Voltage I'll try and tweak something else.
__________________

JustinTime91 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cd-rom boot problem.. Army11b Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 09-13-2008 10:29 AM
No sound and RAM problem Sadistic Tribble Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 04-11-2008 08:50 PM
Overclocking Ram problem Higach Overclocking and Modding 1 01-05-2008 02:06 AM
Problem with MB and/or RAM? vpx_rodder Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 09-24-2007 11:50 AM
Vista Boot Problem Mike9182 Microsoft Windows and Software 3 05-19-2007 09:15 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.