Boot problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-20-2006, 10:24 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 98
Default Boot problem

Hi,

I recently posted about my screwed up computer. While I have yet to sort that I have created another problem somehow.

I had backed up all my files onto a maxtor 300g drive, just files and music and stuff, no programs, and I put it in my dads machine to retrieve some uni work. That all worked fine, it booted up, the drive was detected, and I got my files. When I shut it down, took my drive out and plugged the previous secondary drive back in, I turned it on again. It only got as far as the very first screen which has an MSI logo in big letters on a white background and it says press tab to switch to POST or hit Delete to go to BIOS. I have tried pressing both but it just sits there on this screen, it doesn't load past it if I leave it, or do anything at all.

Can anyone help?

its windows xp, about 2.8 ghz or something, 1024 mb ram.
Gaz
__________________

Greencow_555 is offline  
Old 01-20-2006, 10:27 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Turn off computer, clear CMOS, restart.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 01-20-2006, 10:41 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 98
Default

PRoviding I cleared the cmos correctly (by taking the battery out for 1 minute) then no, thats not working.

Thanks,

Gaz
Greencow_555 is offline  
Old 01-20-2006, 10:43 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

When you reboot you should get a CMOS Checksum error, which means you cleared CMOS correctly.

Make sure the drive you put in is Set as master and the cable is connected correctly.
Ste is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.