Boot Issues - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-13-2005, 08:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3
Default Boot Issues

Helping out a friend with this and can't seem to solve the problem.

HP 734n 2400XP TB
512MB ram
nvidia 440mx
wd 80gig

I reinstalled XP on this computer after a severe viral infection and it worked perfect for two days. It then froze up and every time she tried to reboot it went into a reboot loop. Threw in a copy of Knoppix and it also failed to boot. Tried to reinstall XP and it hangs also. Threw in my copy of UBCD and ran mem and harddisk utilities and found hardly anything wrong. One of the disk scanners found 1 bad sector but two others found none. Put in an old 40 gig I had sittin around and still no change. Finally I thought to run Knoppix in debug mode and it is hanging because of "lost interrupts" to all drives hda, hdb, hdc, etc. Searched the web but found nothing useful. Anyone out there smarter than me? Any help would be greatly appreciated.
__________________

UezeU is offline  
Old 10-13-2005, 11:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Spork 2.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 219
Default

Have you tried booting into safe mode? (Press F8 on startup.)
__________________

Spork 2.0 is offline  
Old 10-14-2005, 09:31 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3
Default

Yes. Nothing will boot. Only low level utilities will start.
UezeU is offline  
Old 10-14-2005, 09:44 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 95
Default

It's bad ram. The virus had nothing to do with this problem. The reinstall had nothing to do with this problem. The RAM in the PC has gone bad, it happens. Try replacing it into anothe computer and I can almost guarentee that it will do a boot loop as well. I have worn out 3 sets of ram in my PC and the same thing happens every time. Sucks I know but at least its something easy to fix.
__________________
Life is like a womens underware. Hard as hell to get into, but fun as sin once you do.
Texas Heat is offline  
Old 10-14-2005, 09:46 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3
Default

Can the ram be bad even if it passes memtests. And I should add that the comp POSTS. It is just high level programs that hang it.
UezeU is offline  
Old 10-14-2005, 09:49 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 95
Default

Yes it can. When my RAM has gone back I get all the way to the windows loading screen before the reboot happens. I see the little bar start moving then BAM reboot. every time.
__________________

__________________
Life is like a womens underware. Hard as hell to get into, but fun as sin once you do.
Texas Heat is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.