Boot from disc problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-16-2005, 03:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aaronkupen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,848
Send a message via AIM to aaronkupen Send a message via Yahoo to aaronkupen
Default Boot from disc problem

Im trying to run a harddrive diagnostic called PowerMAx for my Maxtor hard drive. I wrote the ISO file to a blank disc, went into the bios and set primary device to cd, but when i restart and get to the part where it should ask me to click to boot from disc i just see "boot from disc" then it changes to another line and says "boot from disc" and it starts windows. IT all takes about 3 seconds. Why isn't it booting from the disc?
__________________

aaronkupen is offline  
Old 09-16-2005, 03:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 813
Default

Are you sure you burned it with ISO burning software? Just writing the file to a cd will not work.
__________________

__________________
Associates Degree in IS

A+ Certified

Studying for Network+
BASSMASTER is offline  
Old 09-16-2005, 03:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aaronkupen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,848
Send a message via AIM to aaronkupen Send a message via Yahoo to aaronkupen
Default

How do i write it with ISO software?
aaronkupen is offline  
Old 09-16-2005, 03:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 813
Default

download this program. It's a small program that will let you burn ISO images, it's a powertoy for XP, so it basically adds ISO burning to the built in utilities XP already has.

If you don't have xp let me know and theres another one I can recommend.
__________________
Associates Degree in IS

A+ Certified

Studying for Network+
BASSMASTER is offline  
Old 09-16-2005, 03:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aaronkupen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,848
Send a message via AIM to aaronkupen Send a message via Yahoo to aaronkupen
Default

thanks ill give it a try and let you know if everythings turns out alright.
aaronkupen is offline  
Old 09-16-2005, 04:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aaronkupen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,848
Send a message via AIM to aaronkupen Send a message via Yahoo to aaronkupen
Default

Alright thanks, it turned out my hard drive is faulty, I guess im gonna have to RMA it. Thanks a lot man.
aaronkupen is offline  
Old 09-16-2005, 04:53 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 813
Default

anytime, glad you found the problem
__________________

__________________
Associates Degree in IS

A+ Certified

Studying for Network+
BASSMASTER is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.