Boot From CD - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-05-2007, 07:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4
Default Boot From CD

I have my BIOS set up to boot from a cd, yet none recognized. The only cd that is recognized is my WinXP disc. I need to run a system diagnostic using one of the cds, yet it doesn't recognize it. Any suggestions?
__________________

elementer is offline  
Old 06-05-2007, 07:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Boot From CD

is the cd actually bootable? readable and bootable are not the same
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 06-05-2007, 07:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4
Default Re: Boot From CD

Memtest86+ has a bootable iso that I downloaded and then burned the image using nero.
elementer is offline  
Old 06-05-2007, 07:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Boot From CD

did you use the boot menu instead of the bios?
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 06-05-2007, 07:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4
Default Re: Boot From CD

Here is what I did. (Sorry, I'm not the most computer techie guy in the world)
I hit DEL when I turn that pc, and go to the boot section and change the primary boot to the dvd drive, and when I reset it, it looks for it, and then says there is no cd in the drive. Yet if I put my Windows disc in, it works.
elementer is offline  
Old 06-05-2007, 11:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Fort Smith, Arkansas
Posts: 11
Send a message via AIM to trose
Default Re: Boot From CD

Some BIOS let you hit a key like F8 and choose your boot source. However, I imagine if this cd was bootable that what you are doing would work. I'd find a Live copy of windows that has diagnosis scans and tools built in it.
__________________

trose is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
5 minute, 49 second boot up time, please help! otbpaintball Microsoft Windows and Software 12 05-09-2007 09:11 PM
How to boot from a boot disk? Ioanni Microsoft Windows and Software 6 05-07-2007 06:53 PM
Boot Mgr Missing ??? RedTail Microsoft Windows and Software 9 05-01-2007 01:43 AM
Can't boot from CD. Jehryn Microsoft Windows and Software 3 04-21-2007 12:22 PM
boot cd Pabulum Microsoft Windows and Software 6 04-09-2007 09:51 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.