Boo-urns ; New build won't post... - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-30-2008, 12:28 PM   #11 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Boo-urns ; New build won't post...

Actually I have and they ran perfect. Try another stick if you feel that could be the reason.
__________________

__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 09-30-2008, 12:39 PM   #12 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Boo-urns ; New build won't post...

Quote:
Originally Posted by cvb724 View Post
Actually I have and they ran perfect. Try another stick if you feel that could be the reason.
I have, got 4 1G sticks around, so I tried.
Question... Which slots are which. My 680i was easy, but I confused with the RAM spots on the 650i
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 09-30-2008, 12:48 PM   #13 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Boo-urns ; New build won't post...

Same as the 680i. I think they're just coloured different.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 09-30-2008, 12:55 PM   #14 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Boo-urns ; New build won't post...

Okay, i tried that.... But i don't think i cleared the cmos while i had it come to think of it.

Hmmm, youre only 2 1/2hrs away, come on up to Ottawa and fix it for me
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 09-30-2008, 01:05 PM   #15 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Boo-urns ; New build won't post...

Quote:
Originally Posted by patonb View Post
Okay, i tried that.... But i don't think i cleared the cmos while i had it come to think of it.

Hmmm, youre only 2 1/2hrs away, come on up to Ottawa and fix it for me
^ Hehe yeah I said that in the F@H thread just now. Didn't realize you live there. I'm in Ottawa next week for thanksgiving because my parents are there.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 09-30-2008, 02:06 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Central, TX
Posts: 28
Send a message via Yahoo to JustinTime91
Default Re: Boo-urns ; New build won't post...

Make sure your CPU is compatible with the board, also make sure the board supports you RAM, such as 800MHZ. Which I'm sure it does, and did you connect both power supply cords to the board? Because some boards have the usual 20-pin or 24-pin, and some also have a 4-pin or a 8-pin.
JustinTime91 is offline  
Old 09-30-2008, 03:52 PM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Naphtali14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 140
Send a message via AIM to Naphtali14 Send a message via MSN to Naphtali14 Send a message via Yahoo to Naphtali14
Default Re: Boo-urns ; New build won't post...

It can still be grounded and everything seem like it turns on. Here are some links to other similar threads where I go more in depth..

Monitor wont Display
No Video Signal
Built System Not Working At All
black screen
Naphtali14 is offline  
Old 09-30-2008, 04:17 PM   #18 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Boo-urns ; New build won't post...

Thanks,

I haven't tried it out of the case yet, but would a bad ground still alow everything else to powerup? All the fans CDRW and HD?
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 09-30-2008, 05:17 PM   #19 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Boo-urns ; New build won't post...

No like I said before the computer wouldn't power up. One thing that could cause a short would be a bad power supply ground which is pretty likely when you're dealing with a bad ground.

Have you tried a different video card yet?
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 09-30-2008, 06:20 PM   #20 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Boo-urns ; New build won't post...

Quote:
Originally Posted by cvb724 View Post
No like I said before the computer wouldn't power up. One thing that could cause a short would be a bad power supply ground which is pretty likely when you're dealing with a bad ground.

Have you tried a different video card yet?
No, I haven't tried anything due to needing others to be my hands.... Im a cripple, aka I gt me a bad spinal cord injury.

I got some help coming over ina few days, so I gotta get my plan of attack down for max use of time.

One question I thought of, My psu, which is new basically, didn't have labels on the cable for pci-e. So, my dad aka my hands for the day, I think just grabed a 4 pin and plugged it into the MB 4 pin.

Are the 2 leads the same power, or is they different?
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
my computer build!!! hitmanj New Systems | Building and Buying 50 06-29-2008 12:44 PM
4870 Build elateral New Systems | Building and Buying 19 06-25-2008 08:10 PM
System will not POST! lookinfur Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-30-2008 02:15 PM
Help! MSI-P6N-SLI-Platinum NO POST. Reply Quick! Slooch Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 04-23-2007 01:57 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.