Boo-urns ; New build won't post... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-28-2008, 05:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Boo-urns ; New build won't post...

So building up a folder;

Asus P5n-E sli
Evga 8600gts
E2180
Ballistic DDR2 800 2x1Gig
Retail plus 550W ...... Sucky brand but has decent amps
OCZ Vendetta
3 Antec Pro 80mm fans
IDE HD and CD/RW
All in an old case

So, got it all put together, not sure on speaker and front panel connectors, Hit power, It fires up.... All fans spin, 3 Aantecs, Ocz and gpu. HD starts and CD lights up, but no POST beep or video.

Tried abunch of different RAM setups, but alittle confused as to the right config.

The MB was bought from Ebay, the cpu,gpu and cooler are new, The psu is newish, HD and case are old.

So, can anyone suggest some ideas? I really don't want to switch my q6600 into it for a check...... yet, but theres gotta be other stuff to check first.

Help meeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 09-28-2008, 06:49 PM   #2 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Boo-urns ; New build won't post...

Just try the usual 1 stick of RAM, video card and no other peripherals. With only that setup in try resetting your CMOS.
__________________

__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 09-28-2008, 07:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Boo-urns ; New build won't post...

Did..... Saddly no go.

How can I tell if its grounded right?
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 09-28-2008, 07:07 PM   #4 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Boo-urns ; New build won't post...

It powers on lol.

If the board wasn't grounded and touching part of the case where it shouldn't, the first time you powered it on you would hear a loud pop and then nothing.

Check for any bent pins on the motherboard's socket.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 09-28-2008, 07:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Boo-urns ; New build won't post...

You are 100% sure you plugged the power connector for the GTS?
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 09-28-2008, 07:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Boo-urns ; New build won't post...

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
You are 100% sure you plugged the power connector for the GTS?
It should be, the fan was spinning, and the plug looked fully seated.

Just remeber.. I'm a cripple, so I gotta beg for others to help, so I can't run and double check.

I read that if the rest button was held no beep would occur... Like I said, I think the reset pwr spkr and lights were right.... but unsure.

Which is ground? Red?
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 09-28-2008, 07:49 PM   #7 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Boo-urns ; New build won't post...

Black wires are always the grounds.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 09-28-2008, 07:53 PM   #8 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Boo-urns ; New build won't post...

K gotta check,

Its ****ing me off!
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 09-28-2008, 10:53 PM   #9 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default Re: Boo-urns ; New build won't post...

Forget the PCU power plug?? I've done that once or twice..

I like the title.. "Smithers, are they saying BOOO or BOO-Urns?"
__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Old 09-30-2008, 11:11 AM   #10 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Boo-urns ; New build won't post...

Okay,
Question.... I've read theses boards, Asus p5n-e sli are RAM picky.

I'm using Crucial Ballistic ddr2 800s. Theyre not in the manuals list, has anyone tried/used theses in the board?
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
my computer build!!! hitmanj New Systems | Building and Buying 50 06-29-2008 12:44 PM
4870 Build elateral New Systems | Building and Buying 19 06-25-2008 08:10 PM
System will not POST! lookinfur Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-30-2008 02:15 PM
Help! MSI-P6N-SLI-Platinum NO POST. Reply Quick! Slooch Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 04-23-2007 01:57 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.