Blue screen on recent build - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-23-2005, 01:06 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 59
Default Blue screen on recent build

Hey,
all of a sudden today my comp is acting up. Put in City of Heroes and it freezes the game but not the PC. Sound loop every time.

I reinstalled the sound drivers.
I have nothing overclocked at the moment
I reinstalled the video drivers
The bios is updated
I ran Memtest-86 3.2 for hours and no errors ( I thought it was this)

Also now I started multi tasking and this is where the blue screen jumps in for a few seconds.. memory dump yadda yadda and bam, restart.

I was running a download ( most updated sound driver ) Azureus, and internet explorer. That's it.

CPU is at 32 degrees, vid card and HDD 39 degrees.
Comp stats in sig.
Thanks!
Shawn
__________________

__________________
------------------------------------------------
A computer :)
Smitty090 is offline  
Old 12-23-2005, 01:09 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 373
Default

What all do you have in your PCI slots. I'm thinking you may have an IRQ conflict.
__________________

__________________
AMD 3800+ X2
Zalman CNPS7000B CPU Heatsink/Fan
ASUS A8N Premium
2 GB G. Skill DDR 400 (2 X 1 GB)
1 GB Ultra DDR 400 (2 X 512 GB)
eVGA 7800GT 256MB
120 GB seagate HD (7200RPM)
80 GB Seagate HD (7200RPM)
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 Platium ZS Sound Card
Logitec z5300 5.1 THX certified speaker
Medusa 5.1 Headphones
ATI TV turner card
DVD Drive
CD Burner Drive
Razer Copperhead Gaming mouse
Nikkon is offline  
Old 12-23-2005, 01:10 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 59
Default

Nothing,
Board has sound and LAN. I am using a USB mouse too.
__________________
------------------------------------------------
A computer :)
Smitty090 is offline  
Old 12-23-2005, 01:14 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 373
Default

Have you tried to uninstall/reinstall the game ?
__________________
AMD 3800+ X2
Zalman CNPS7000B CPU Heatsink/Fan
ASUS A8N Premium
2 GB G. Skill DDR 400 (2 X 1 GB)
1 GB Ultra DDR 400 (2 X 512 GB)
eVGA 7800GT 256MB
120 GB seagate HD (7200RPM)
80 GB Seagate HD (7200RPM)
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 Platium ZS Sound Card
Logitec z5300 5.1 THX certified speaker
Medusa 5.1 Headphones
ATI TV turner card
DVD Drive
CD Burner Drive
Razer Copperhead Gaming mouse
Nikkon is offline  
Old 12-23-2005, 01:16 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 59
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nikkon
Have you tried to uninstall/reinstall the game ?
I thought about that when it was freezing the game but now the blue screen is happening when I multi task with simple programs and no where close to any games..?
__________________
------------------------------------------------
A computer :)
Smitty090 is offline  
Old 12-23-2005, 01:18 AM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 239
Default

Did you install the IDE drivers or the Nvidia firewall with that motherboard? If so, thats the cause of your BSOD. The Nvidia Network manager is another cause of this problem. If you installed those things, it will be easiest to just reformat because its hard to get those things uninstalled.
BandwidthHogg is offline  
Old 12-23-2005, 01:22 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 59
Default

When I reinstalled some drivers the firewall ones did install.. DOH. I knew that was bad. The network manager I believe is installed too.
I have the firewall shut off but I will reinstall all the Nvidia drivers and reinstall the ones I want from the site.

Thanks for the help. I'll try that now!

Shawn
__________________
------------------------------------------------
A computer :)
Smitty090 is offline  
Old 12-23-2005, 01:27 AM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 239
Default

You must uninstall the IDE drivers as well. They are bad apples.
BandwidthHogg is offline  
Old 12-23-2005, 03:20 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 59
Default

Everything seems to be running quite well now.
Thank you for sharing!

Smitty
__________________

__________________
------------------------------------------------
A computer :)
Smitty090 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.