Blue Screen of Death, New Mobo - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-31-2006, 10:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2
Angry Blue Screen of Death, New Mobo

Just bought my new A8N-SLI Deluxe. Just before windows xp starts up, I get the blue screen of death, giving me the notice about a.)possibly having a virus, and b.) having a corrupt harddrive. I switched out my HD with an older one that i know works, and still got the same problem. Booting in safe mode does not help.

the exact error message:

***STOP: 0x0000007B (0xF78A2640, 0x0000034, 0x00000000, 0x00000000)

System-
AMD Athlon 64 3000+
A8N-SLI Deluxe mobo
XfX nvidia geForce 7600 gt
__________________

Frapples is offline  
Old 08-31-2006, 10:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
AMDSCOrPiO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 613
Default

Reset the cmos, maybe theres incorrect settings for the hardware
__________________

__________________
AMDSCOrPiO is offline  
Old 08-31-2006, 10:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 47
Default

did you reinstall windows after you replaced it?... if you didnt you're HAL is messed up. to fix this you need to repair windows...

When the installing windows screen comes up dont do the first repair...that takes you to the console...but when it says looking for previous versions of windows or whatever it'll give you the option to repair it again... you want to do it now... what it does is replace all of your windows files without touching your other data...thus no data loss

good luck
-kidwell28
Kidwell28 is offline  
Old 08-31-2006, 11:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

Home repair:
http://www.windowsxphome.windowsrein...exfullpage.htm

Pro repair:
http://www.windowsxpprofessional.win...exfullpage.htm
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 09-01-2006, 10:23 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2
Default

Ok i tried to repair windows, but my computer just wont boot from the windows cd. I even set the boot priority to cd-rom, and it still wont work.
Frapples is offline  
Old 09-01-2006, 01:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 57
Default

Download the setup boot disks from http://www.bootdisk.com/bootdisk.htm

Run the exe that will install itself to 6 floppies. Put the first one in your computer, turn it on, and follow the directions.
__________________

Streetz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.