Blue Screen - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-24-2008, 12:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: "Live Music Capitol of the World"
Posts: 202
Post Blue Screen

When i play games where i have to use the dvd drive they crash. Bioshock, Crysis, Far Cry 2 all have done the same thing when i pop the DVD in , blue screen with a bunch of white writing and reboots. Microsoft error report says the error is being researched. When i play steam games my PC is fine. Is it my dvd drive?
__________________

__________________
Intel Core i7-3770k
Asrock Z77E-ITX
EVGA GTX 780 SC ACX
Plextor M5P 128 GB
Seagate ST1000DM003 1TB
Corsair H80i
G.SKILL Sniper Series 8GB 1866Mhz
SILVERSTONE ST55F-G 550W
BitFenix Prodigy Artic White
Samsung SyncMaster 2233
Windows 7
mahiv87 is offline  
Old 11-24-2008, 01:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
objecterror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 731
Default Re: Blue Screen

BSOD's, or blue screens are prevelant in most of microsoft windows software and the numbers usually detail what the problem is. more than likely hardware related when hardware is malfunctioning or there are bad drivers. I've had a couple blue screens playing fallout 3 not to mention fallout 3 crashing a few times.
__________________

__________________
"After it's all said and done, more will be said than done." -- Quote by Somebody

Steam @ objecterror
objecterror is offline  
Old 11-24-2008, 01:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: "Live Music Capitol of the World"
Posts: 202
Post Re: Blue Screen

well i suspected my HD going out, could it be my HD?
__________________
Intel Core i7-3770k
Asrock Z77E-ITX
EVGA GTX 780 SC ACX
Plextor M5P 128 GB
Seagate ST1000DM003 1TB
Corsair H80i
G.SKILL Sniper Series 8GB 1866Mhz
SILVERSTONE ST55F-G 550W
BitFenix Prodigy Artic White
Samsung SyncMaster 2233
Windows 7
mahiv87 is offline  
Old 11-24-2008, 06:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
objecterror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 731
Default Re: Blue Screen

The BSOD, those white letters and numbers is the computers own way of telling you exactly what the problem is. You can run a hard drive test but, there is no other physical way of telling you if it's the hard drive or the cd rom. Seeing that your having the problem when the cd-rom comes into play, have you tried swapping the optical drive for another?
__________________
"After it's all said and done, more will be said than done." -- Quote by Somebody

Steam @ objecterror
objecterror is offline  
Old 11-24-2008, 11:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: "Live Music Capitol of the World"
Posts: 202
Post Re: Blue Screen

no i havent swapped anything yet. plan to this weekend
__________________
Intel Core i7-3770k
Asrock Z77E-ITX
EVGA GTX 780 SC ACX
Plextor M5P 128 GB
Seagate ST1000DM003 1TB
Corsair H80i
G.SKILL Sniper Series 8GB 1866Mhz
SILVERSTONE ST55F-G 550W
BitFenix Prodigy Artic White
Samsung SyncMaster 2233
Windows 7
mahiv87 is offline  
Old 11-25-2008, 12:36 AM   #6 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,508
Default Re: Blue Screen

Get us the STOP error code, which is the numbers at the bottom of the screen formatted as such: 0x000000##, where ## = some alphanumerical combination.

Also give us the words in all caps at the top (for example: IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL).

If the screen flashes up too fast, then do this:

When in Windows, go to Start > right click 'My Computer' > go to Properties > click on the Advanced tab > click on Settings under Startup and Recovery > uncheck the box that says "Automatically Restart" > Click OK on all dialogs.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 11-25-2008, 12:46 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
objecterror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 731
Default Re: Blue Screen

I'll join you on that one. In the past few weeks?(days?) I've gotten two blue screens. One during a play through of fallout 3. Another after I attempted to install it, another when I walked away for roughly 20 minutes, I came back and it blue screened. I might be back with a post with my error code.
---I have the code---
Stop 0x000000F4(0x00000003, 0x89b1F748,0x89B1F8Bc,0805D297C)
__________________
"After it's all said and done, more will be said than done." -- Quote by Somebody

Steam @ objecterror
objecterror is offline  
Old 11-25-2008, 02:27 PM   #8 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Blue Screen

Bug Check 0xF4: CRITICAL_OBJECT_TERMINATION

F4 error. Critical Process Terminated.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 11-25-2008, 05:32 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: "Live Music Capitol of the World"
Posts: 202
Post Re: Blue Screen

ok here is what i got MACHINE_CHECK_EXCEPTION 0x0000009c. it looks like a CPU problem. I have my CPU OC'd could this just mean it's unstable?
__________________
Intel Core i7-3770k
Asrock Z77E-ITX
EVGA GTX 780 SC ACX
Plextor M5P 128 GB
Seagate ST1000DM003 1TB
Corsair H80i
G.SKILL Sniper Series 8GB 1866Mhz
SILVERSTONE ST55F-G 550W
BitFenix Prodigy Artic White
Samsung SyncMaster 2233
Windows 7
mahiv87 is offline  
Old 11-25-2008, 06:46 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
objecterror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 731
Default Re: Blue Screen

Quote:
Originally Posted by mahiv87 View Post
ok here is what i got MACHINE_CHECK_EXCEPTION 0x0000009c. it looks like a CPU problem. I have my CPU OC'd could this just mean it's unstable?
Bug Check 0x9C: MACHINE_CHECK_EXCEPTION
This is what I gathered from the same website. I don't know if it's exact.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mak213 View Post
Bug Check 0xF4: CRITICAL_OBJECT_TERMINATION

F4 error. Critical Process Terminated.
Hm, thanks for this, I suppose I can plug my secondary hard drive in and put my other ram stick in and further research the problem.
__________________

__________________
"After it's all said and done, more will be said than done." -- Quote by Somebody

Steam @ objecterror
objecterror is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
blue screen error--stop:0x0000007e guana Microsoft Windows and Software 9 10-06-2008 04:59 PM
New Build -> Blue Screen of Death! Trancematic New Systems | Building and Buying 10 01-12-2008 12:00 PM
Blue Screen before login Chrono Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 07-28-2007 03:36 AM
IBM Announces PetaFLOP Blue Gene Supercomputer maroon1 New Systems | Building and Buying 16 06-27-2007 06:09 PM
Blue screen of death aaronkupen Overclocking and Modding 10 06-21-2007 08:40 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.