blue error screen - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-09-2006, 08:45 PM   #11 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default

the pagefile technic doesnt work and the chkdsk went fine.
my page file is:

Initial Size mb: 672
maximum size: 1344
is this right ?

the memtest86 is soo confusing and retarded , how do i use this thing?
i read the READ me part but still i dont get it !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
__________________

__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 09-10-2006, 06:41 AM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

If i remember rightly you just put a blank floppy in the drive, run the program, then boot from the floppy.

I really think its that simple, though admittedly I havent done it for a month or two.

May as well let windows manage your page file size.

Edit: Yeah, just tried it, its extreamly simple. I'll spell out some steps for you:

1) Format a floppy and put it in your floppy drive (Drive A: ?)

2) Extract the memt32.zip somewhere

3) double left click on the install.bat file

4) When prompted type your floppy drive letter (A: )

5) when asked for a blank disk hit enter

6) reboot, enter your CMOS

7) change Boot order to floppy first

8) save and exit BIOs

9) sit back and watch memtest do its thing... let it run for an hour or untill you get errors.
__________________

__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 09-11-2006, 02:50 PM   #13 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default

ya i did wat u said but when it tried booting from the floppy can't load. anyway itsNOT the RAM because i tried a different RAM diagnostic called:
Microsoft Memory Diagnostic
http://oca.microsoft.com/en/windiag.asp
i took it to the extended test instead of the standard and it was running over couple days now so i quite but i seems to be fine it said NO Errors have Been Found.
looks like the memory is fine but the HD is 70% dead is there anyway to fix this HD my programming or is it permenent?
__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 09-11-2006, 06:31 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

yes, windiag is good too, I always used to use that before i found memtest86.

Anyway, so we can rule out the RAM. looks like It might well be your Hdd at fault, this was always the most likely senario.
Have you tried reinstalling yor mobo chipset drivers/software? its possible that your ATA driver might be corrupt.

Also, download the diag soft from seagate and give it a go here
__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 09-12-2006, 03:33 PM   #15 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default

ya i did install the newest drivers for my system and still the same problem but i found out the main problem it was my HDD the whole ~time~ i ran this program 4 two days : HDD Regeneration v1.51 and found out that the sectors on it were SCREWED like ****.
yesterday there were 34 sectors bad the following morning ~103~ and if i were to leave it on til it finishes there would be more

Time for a New HD
__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 09-12-2006, 03:41 PM   #16 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default

thnx for links and help bro
__________________

__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.