Blue Error/Failure Screen On Boot Up - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-25-2006, 09:37 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
westy159's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 182
Default Blue Error/Failure Screen On Boot Up

I tried to put a new graphics card into my sisters PC to replace the poor onboard graphics, something that i have done many times before on my own PC but on boot up i got a blue screen stating that Windows had to shut down to prevent damage. I switched back to the onboard graphics but same error screen comes up.

Please help. What could the problem be and how can i fix it?
__________________

westy159 is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 09:39 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

perhaps a driver conflict. try booting into safe mode. if that works remove and drivers installed for the onboard and reboot with the new graphics card in, making sure that the onboard graphics is also disabled.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 09:52 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
westy159's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 182
Default

@ nitestick

i can go into safe mode and try to get rid of onboard graphics drivers if i can find them but on the BIOS there isnt an option to switch to AGP as far as i can tell. Also no drivers have been installed for the new graphics card because the disc wouldnt allow it unless the card was in first.

So what should i try?

cheers
westy159 is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 09:58 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

there may be jumpers on the motherboard to disable the onboard graphics. i think it should work if you remove the installed drivers in safe mode
Nitestick is offline  
Old 03-27-2006, 08:39 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
westy159's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 182
Default

Thanks for the help. What actually fixed it was a system restore which i decided to try even though i believed the problem was a hardware thing and not software. Still not sure what the problem was but the PC is running just as well as it did originally so its all good.

Cheers.
westy159 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.