blu ray drive and powerdvd fail - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-25-2009, 11:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Thumbs down blu ray drive and powerdvd fail

Ok so i bought the hd/bd combo drive from newegg that includes power dvd. I get a "internal error" when trying to watch watchmen. anyone else have expericence with this drive? I'm not pleased with my jump into blu ray.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 07-26-2009, 06:39 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,774
Default Re: blu ray drive and powerdvd fail

Is your graphics card HDCP, and is your monitor HDCP? HDCP is a standard for coding/decoding HD signals, Wikipedia explains it better:

Quote:
High-bandwidth Digital Content Protection (HDCP) is a form of digital copy protection developed by Intel Corporation [1] to prevent copying of digital audio and video content as it travels across DisplayPort, Digital Visual Interface (DVI), High-Definition Multimedia Interface (HDMI), Gigabit Video Interface (GVIF), or Unified Display Interface (UDI) connections, even if such copying would be permitted by fair use laws.
And Sony I believe licenses this technology for Blu-Ray. So you'll need an HDCP-capable monitor and graphics card. Unfortunately it's yet another form of DRM designed to inconvenience the consumer :| Which Sony is evidently keen on.

If you do have the required hardware then I have no idea; have you tried any other BD-R discs to see if the disc or the drive is at fault? Try a DVD too.
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 07-26-2009, 10:39 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: blu ray drive and powerdvd fail

I never could get power dvd to work with my Blu-ray. I ended up fixing it the old fashion way, spending more money

I bought Corel WinDVD 9 Plus Blu-ray Corel Store - WinDVD 9 Plus Blu-ray
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 07-28-2009, 04:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: blu ray drive and powerdvd fail

Yes, its an 8500gt and a brand new samsung 67" tv. Sadly its the only bd movie i have right now so i cant test anything else.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 07-28-2009, 04:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: blu ray drive and powerdvd fail

What about tosing it into nyou main rig?
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 07-28-2009, 09:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: blu ray drive and powerdvd fail

Quote:
Originally Posted by patonb View Post
What about tosing it into nyou main rig?
I actually get an error. The drive plays normal dvds just fine. When i try to play watchmen it says "internal error" contact tech support.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 07-28-2009, 10:08 PM   #7 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: blu ray drive and powerdvd fail

Have you tried running KLite or AnyDVD HD? Dont know if they would help but it might be a option.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 07-29-2009, 09:27 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: blu ray drive and powerdvd fail

anydvd hd was my next option, but my parents were in town so i didnt have much time to mess with it. I'll look into klite too.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 07-29-2009, 11:09 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: blu ray drive and powerdvd fail

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
Ok so i bought the hd/bd combo drive from newegg that includes power dvd. I get a "internal error" when trying to watch watchmen. anyone else have expericence with this drive? I'm not pleased with my jump into blu ray.
What I usually do is rip the blu-ray disc to my hard drive using AnyDVD, then play the movie (the biggest file in the stream folder) using Media Player Classic: Home Cinema (using DirectX Video Acceleration)
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-29-2009, 11:20 AM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
synergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 15 Hive
Posts: 2,284
Send a message via MSN to synergy Send a message via Yahoo to synergy
Default Re: blu ray drive and powerdvd fail

What version of PowerDVD are you running?

I have 9 and it plays BD fine, but won't play HD-DVD, so I picked up TotalMedia Theatre and it will play everything great! I also tried Corel WinDVD 9 + BD, but kept getting errors and crashes on Win7.
__________________

__________________
i7 2600K | TRUE 120 w/ Xigmatek XLF-F1253 | Asus Sabertooth P67 | 16 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX 560Ti | 256 GB Plextor M3 SSD |80 GB Intel X25-M SSD | Corsair Graphite 600T
Coolermaster Purepower 850W | Samsung 25.5" 1920x1200 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit


HTPC: AMD FX-4100 3.6 GHz | Gigabyte GA-880GM mATX w/ ATI Radeon HD 4250 | 8 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
LG Blu-Ray/HD-DVD ROM + DVD RW | 60 GB OCZ Vertex SSD | WD Caviar 1 TB | Antec Veris Fusion Black HTPC Case
Logitech diNovo Edge KB | Win7 Pro 64-bit
3dMark06 23,159 | 3dMark Vantage 23,579 | TF2 Stats Page | BC2 Stats | BF3 Stats
MCSE (SharePoint 2013), MCITP & MCTS (SharePoint 2010), CIW
synergy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OEM Blu Ray Drive - Will it come with software? pinoy3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 20 01-08-2009 09:50 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.