blown PSU - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-22-2007, 11:37 AM   #1 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default blown PSU

i made the mistake of flicking the switch on the back of my psu to 115v ( i live in the u.k so it should be on 230v) with the power cord plugged in.

I got this strange whurring noise so i think it must be blown.

There is a fuse in my psu ( i took the cover off) but it seems to be wired into the cicruit board. Is there anyway of fixing my psu or shall i get a new one?
__________________

Nick is offline  
Old 03-22-2007, 01:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: blown PSU

Have you tried putting it back to the normal voltage for your area then turning it on.

If the power supply doesn't turn on, then try to RMA it first. Before shoping for a new one.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 03-22-2007, 02:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: blown PSU

yup ive tried that by the way what do you mean by RMA it first?
Nick is offline  
Old 03-22-2007, 03:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 235
Default Re: blown PSU

i did the same thing chief! Thought nothing of it whilst flicking the switch, only to be met by a blue flash. Powr supply was a gonner; happened when i was real skint too so it was a bit of a *****. Hopefully you aren't powering a beast of a system so the new one wont cost you too much.
plant is offline  
Old 03-22-2007, 03:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: blown PSU

RMA = Use warranty.
Ste is offline  
Old 03-22-2007, 05:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: blown PSU

Quote:
Originally Posted by plant View Post
; happened when i was real skint too so it was a bit of a *****. Hopefully you aren't powering a beast of a system so the new one wont cost you too much.
do you mean a new sytem wont cost much or a new PSU wont cost much?

i got that blue flash too
Nick is offline  
Old 03-22-2007, 06:47 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default Re: blown PSU

A new PSU, But if the fuse is just blown you can resolder one back in if you know how.
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 03-22-2007, 06:53 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: blown PSU

Wth is wrong with the warranty.

Use IT FIRST!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Ste is offline  
Old 03-22-2007, 07:12 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default Re: blown PSU

RMA = Return Merchandise Authorization.

When your product is under warranty, you can contact the manufacturer of said product and explain the issue you are having and they will review your request and issue you an RMA number. They will tell you to put this number on the outside of the package as well as inside the package. This number will be their record to track your issue and review your product once they receive it. After they receive it they will do either of the follow 2 things.

1.) repair the product and ship it back to you.
2.) replace the product and ship it back to you.

*** IN most cases, You must pay for shipping to return the product to them. They in most case, pay the shipping to get it back to you.

It's pretty simple actually, it does take some time, but yeah. Use the warranty.

Trust me, I've got at least 20+ RMA's under my belt in various products.
HAVOC is offline  
Old 03-22-2007, 11:58 PM   #10 (permalink)
Indeed.
 
Greg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,600
Default Re: blown PSU

Be careful when messing around inside a PSU, there are caps in there that can kill you if you touch them.
__________________

__________________

Greg is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.