Blew out my tower now it wont power up - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-28-2015, 09:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
cliffhucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Silly Valley
Posts: 298
Default Blew out my tower now it wont power up

I blew out my tower with comp.air and now it is dead.

could the air have messed up the PSU ? spec. should be in my sig.

thread when i built system
New build, need some input.
__________________

cliffhucker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2015, 09:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: Blew out my tower now it wont power up

Define "dead".

Any fans spin up? Lights turn on?

Have you tried reseating everything and made sure nothing is loose?
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2015, 09:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
cliffhucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Silly Valley
Posts: 298
Default Re: Blew out my tower now it wont power up

no fans no lights absolutely nothing. I am removing and reinstalling psu now and looking over everything. everything is pretty tight. if it was the motherboard would i still see some lights or something somewhere?
cliffhucker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2015, 09:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
cliffhucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Silly Valley
Posts: 298
Default Re: Blew out my tower now it wont power up

i did the paper clip jump test and get nothing. i had just 1 fan hiooked up to the psu and jumped the 4th and 5th pins. (my wires are all blacK) Seasonic
cliffhucker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2015, 10:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
cliffhucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Silly Valley
Posts: 298
Default Re: Blew out my tower now it wont power up

So i am assuming i nee a new psu. i am quite desperate to say the least. I use my system to daytrade stocks and i am in the middle of some heavy trades come monday morning. I live in the mountains away from many options. There is a Frys a few hours away and a best buy.

the absolute last thing i want to do is recable my system. i would have to remove water cooling and what not. So i would ideally like to use my existing modular cables.

can a corsair modular unit accept the seasonic cables?

i have the seasonic X-650 SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold ((SS-650KM Active PFC F3)) 650W ATX12V V2.3/EPS 12V V2.91 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Full Modular Active PFC Power Supply - Newegg.com

I do not see the same model PSU as i have anywhere..
cliffhucker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2015, 10:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Blew out my tower now it wont power up

Let's start with the basics.

Make sure the switch on the PSU is turned on. I have turned mine off before so it can happen.

Also, make sure the power cable is seated firmly in the PSU as well as the wall/BBU socket.

Also make sure your internal connections are good. I would unplug and then replug each one.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2015, 10:44 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
cliffhucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Silly Valley
Posts: 298
Default Re: Blew out my tower now it wont power up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
Let's start with the basics.

Make sure the switch on the PSU is turned on. I have turned mine off before so it can happen.

Also, make sure the power cable is seated firmly in the PSU as well as the wall/BBU socket.

Also make sure your internal connections are good. I would unplug and then replug each one.

Check.. i did all that multiple times.
cliffhucker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2015, 10:48 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
cliffhucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Silly Valley
Posts: 298
Default Re: Blew out my tower now it wont power up

PSU is dead.

Does any retailer sell Seasonic?
cliffhucker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2015, 10:57 PM   #9 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Blew out my tower now it wont power up

None that I know of. An independent shop might.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2015, 11:03 PM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: Blew out my tower now it wont power up

Quote:
Originally Posted by cliffhucker View Post
Check.. i did all that multiple times.
Thats kind of hard to believe your psu would just die from air cleaning.
Check your case pwr, rst and hdd led wires.
Unplug the pwr and reinsert it and make sure its the in correct position you had it in.
Also this might be a long shot, but wait till in the morning time.
Plug in your power cord and turn it on, make sure any dust or debre isn't on the mobo or near it capacitors.
Too much of it and it'll make your computer short out when powering on and off over time or kill it if powered in correctly.

If all else fails and you can use the net from whatever, order yourself a new psu from newegg and contact seasonic rma support for a replacement.

Welcome to Seasonic USA

Welcome to Seasonic USA
__________________

-RockMan- is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power Supply Blew Up Whirlwind New Systems | Building and Buying 21 07-17-2009 07:36 PM
Power supply blew up gkep Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 02-25-2006 07:52 AM
Psu Blew Out? gust_nul Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 17 10-06-2005 01:01 PM
CASE: Tower or Full-tower? WQ87 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 06-26-2004 10:08 PM
Well, I think I just blew out my processor somehow AcidicRage Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 7 04-18-2004 09:49 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.