Black snow on screen? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-23-2010, 10:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Sean W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Claremont CA.
Posts: 2,095
Default Black snow on screen?

now that i have good airflow in my case, i looked at the temp of my GPU and its at 40*C at idle and gets up to 70*C at load (used to be 50 idle and 85 at load ). so i figured it would be okay to overclock my Graphics card. but when i speed up the GPU and memory speed of my graphics card and run Furmark ( or play a game ) after not to long, i get what looks like black snow or static on the screen, its random and the each spot doesnt stay put for very long ( a fraction of a second ) i have no idea what is causing it, i thought it was heat but apparantly not... maybe someone can help me.. thanks..

i took a picture, and circled the " Black snow ", i could only see a few in that screen shot but there are literally hundreds that flicker all of the screen

__________________

__________________
Modded Raidmax Hyperion Case
MSI Z97M Gaming
4770K
16gigs Corsair Vengeance 1866mhz
SLI GTX 980s
Samsung 830 Series 128gig SSD
EVGA G2 850W power supply
2x Alphacool ST30 240mm, 1x Alphacool ST30 120mm, swiftech Micro res, Enzotech Rev A. CPU water block, Full Coverage EKWB GPU blocks, modded Vari MCP655 pump
LG 34UM95 21:9 Ultrawide 3440x1440 monitor
Sean W. is offline  
Old 05-23-2010, 11:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Black snow on screen?

I think you are pushing too much on your card. If you can play games fine without the overclock, leave it.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 05-23-2010, 11:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default Re: Black snow on screen?

Looks like artifacting to me, it's a symptom of instability. It can be caused by either overclocking too much or overheating.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 05-24-2010, 04:11 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Sean W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Claremont CA.
Posts: 2,095
Default Re: Black snow on screen?

so how do i fix it?
__________________
Modded Raidmax Hyperion Case
MSI Z97M Gaming
4770K
16gigs Corsair Vengeance 1866mhz
SLI GTX 980s
Samsung 830 Series 128gig SSD
EVGA G2 850W power supply
2x Alphacool ST30 240mm, 1x Alphacool ST30 120mm, swiftech Micro res, Enzotech Rev A. CPU water block, Full Coverage EKWB GPU blocks, modded Vari MCP655 pump
LG 34UM95 21:9 Ultrawide 3440x1440 monitor
Sean W. is offline  
Old 05-24-2010, 07:55 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Black snow on screen?

It could be your gpu memory that's getting stressed and can't handle the overclock.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 05-24-2010, 08:50 AM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Black snow on screen?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sean W. View Post
so how do i fix it?
Well as they said above, it is caused by over clocking. So that would mean to fix it, dont over clock.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 05-24-2010, 05:09 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Sean W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Claremont CA.
Posts: 2,095
Default Re: Black snow on screen?

but i want to over clock... if i get a GPU cooler would that let me max out my card with out this happening?
__________________
Modded Raidmax Hyperion Case
MSI Z97M Gaming
4770K
16gigs Corsair Vengeance 1866mhz
SLI GTX 980s
Samsung 830 Series 128gig SSD
EVGA G2 850W power supply
2x Alphacool ST30 240mm, 1x Alphacool ST30 120mm, swiftech Micro res, Enzotech Rev A. CPU water block, Full Coverage EKWB GPU blocks, modded Vari MCP655 pump
LG 34UM95 21:9 Ultrawide 3440x1440 monitor
Sean W. is offline  
Old 05-24-2010, 05:26 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Black snow on screen?

Try lowering your overclock until the artifacts go away and then lower it just a little more to ensure stability for everyday use. There's a big difference between benchmark overclocking and everyday use overclocking. I would never run my hardware everyday at the speeds I post in the benchmark threads.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 05-24-2010, 06:46 PM   #9 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Black snow on screen?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sean W. View Post
but i want to over clock... if i get a GPU cooler would that let me max out my card with out this happening?
I want a Pony, but I can't have it....

For all you know, its your memory thats not up to the overclock. A cooler will only help when youre stable, but it runs way to hot.

With OC, just cause one person can acheive it, there is 0 garrentee that anyone else can too.

Sucks but thats life....
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 05-25-2010, 02:29 AM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Sean W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Claremont CA.
Posts: 2,095
Default Re: Black snow on screen?

hmm... so getting a VGA cooler is no guarantee that it will allow e ot max out my card with out any problems?
__________________

__________________
Modded Raidmax Hyperion Case
MSI Z97M Gaming
4770K
16gigs Corsair Vengeance 1866mhz
SLI GTX 980s
Samsung 830 Series 128gig SSD
EVGA G2 850W power supply
2x Alphacool ST30 240mm, 1x Alphacool ST30 120mm, swiftech Micro res, Enzotech Rev A. CPU water block, Full Coverage EKWB GPU blocks, modded Vari MCP655 pump
LG 34UM95 21:9 Ultrawide 3440x1440 monitor
Sean W. is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
boot but no response, screen is black and pc runs v8killaz Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 09-29-2009 08:03 PM
Black Screen with just cursor DuniCraig Microsoft Windows and Software 2 07-01-2009 05:07 PM
1/4th of screen black? Wetop Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 11 08-17-2008 04:05 AM
Screen goes black.... Dr DMoney Linux and Open Source 7 03-08-2008 06:03 PM
Screen stays black.... Cajete Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 04-01-2007 08:20 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.