Black Screen...no post - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-05-2007, 06:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 443
Default Black Screen...no post

My computer is in the sig, all of a sudden yesterday i turned it on and the computer wont post, black screen etc.

Ive tried removing video card, no post still. The power supply seems fine, motherboard has green light on.

Any ideas on what i should do? It isnt the monitor or the cable, ive confirmed both of those are working.

Lets see what else might be relevant...all fans are spinning etc, perhaps the cpu is fried? Ive had high temps above 70 sometimes reported in bios (badaxe temps are always wrong though...) Everest reports the D 940 at 68 highest.
__________________

__________________
Alienware m5550
Intel Core Duo T2300
ATI Radeon x1400 256mb
2x 512mb Ram

Logitech G7
Creative GigaWorks T-20
--------------------------
blaackoran is offline  
Old 03-05-2007, 07:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
Custom User Title
 
decibaL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 341
Default

Resort to your motherboard manual and reset your CMOS.
__________________

__________________

decibaL is offline  
Old 03-05-2007, 09:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 443
Default

no cmos reset on this motherboard....
__________________
Alienware m5550
Intel Core Duo T2300
ATI Radeon x1400 256mb
2x 512mb Ram

Logitech G7
Creative GigaWorks T-20
--------------------------
blaackoran is offline  
Old 03-05-2007, 09:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 443
Default

cant get it to post...
__________________
Alienware m5550
Intel Core Duo T2300
ATI Radeon x1400 256mb
2x 512mb Ram

Logitech G7
Creative GigaWorks T-20
--------------------------
blaackoran is offline  
Old 03-06-2007, 12:09 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default

NO Beep codes?Those temps seem quite high. You can't get into your Bios either huh? If you can select restore BIOS to default. But remember what your settings were first.
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 03-06-2007, 02:03 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 443
Default

has nothing to do with bios settings... as they werent changed. I think its either the mobo is messed, or the cpu is fried...i dont really see how that happens...but it cant be RAM, or Video....not a HD issue... not anything to do with my PSU...
__________________
Alienware m5550
Intel Core Duo T2300
ATI Radeon x1400 256mb
2x 512mb Ram

Logitech G7
Creative GigaWorks T-20
--------------------------
blaackoran is offline  
Old 03-07-2007, 09:25 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 443
Default

ok so im down to it either being the RAM or the MOBO.

I turn on my PC with no ram, get the 3 beep "no ram" error. Put both sticks in, no beep. Put either one of them in by themselves...no beep.

Ram or mobo?

Ill try testing the ram in my sisters Dell later...
__________________
Alienware m5550
Intel Core Duo T2300
ATI Radeon x1400 256mb
2x 512mb Ram

Logitech G7
Creative GigaWorks T-20
--------------------------
blaackoran is offline  
Old 03-07-2007, 09:43 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 443
Default

ok wow, just got my pc running again... so i turned it off.

Upon trying to turn it back on....same problem.

My god.. what is going on here... its obviously not the ram now...I saw that it was all working..

very odd..
__________________
Alienware m5550
Intel Core Duo T2300
ATI Radeon x1400 256mb
2x 512mb Ram

Logitech G7
Creative GigaWorks T-20
--------------------------
blaackoran is offline  
Old 03-07-2007, 10:20 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 443
Default

Ok, its on again....working like nothing happened.

I dont know what will happen if I turn it off again though.

For future reference for everyone with a Intel D975xbx board... there is NO beep on a successful post...

I just took note of this.
__________________

__________________
Alienware m5550
Intel Core Duo T2300
ATI Radeon x1400 256mb
2x 512mb Ram

Logitech G7
Creative GigaWorks T-20
--------------------------
blaackoran is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.