Black screen, long beep....no start - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-27-2006, 08:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 9
Default Black screen, long beep....no start

Hi,

I just a new mother board (Epox Socket 775 800 FSB) and when i booted up yesterday, with my old HD it worked fine, with no sound though (onboard...but lets no worry about the sound for right now). I did the Windows updates and had all my data pretty much the way I had it. After one of the many Windows updates, it prompted for a restart....fine. Thats when I ran into my problem

After the reboot, now I get a black screen. I cant get into the BIOS to change anything, I cant boot from a CD-ROM. I have tried many things already to try and fix this:

I have tried replacing the Video card with a known working card.

I have tried putting the Memory module (which is a DDR2 512MB) in a new slot. (I dont have a spare to try as of yet)

I tried waiting an hour and trying again ( I read that worked for someone)

I tried starting from scratch...booting with only keyboard and mobo, and still I get the black screen (obviosly) and the longgggg beeps.

I think this is a mobo problem but I'm not 100%

Can anyone offer any advice?
__________________

Capt_Trips is offline  
Old 11-28-2006, 02:08 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 146
Default

Sounds like a mobo problem, but before you try replacing it, go to the bios manufacturers website and look up it's beep code. That should tell you what's failing.

If you don't know who your bios manufacturer is, look up your Mobo on it's maker's website and it should tell you.
__________________

ShackledPhoenix is offline  
Old 11-28-2006, 08:43 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 9
Default

I tried that as well...its an Award BIOS and they dont offe much for beep codes as manufactorers can modify the BIOS...it said One beep....blah blah blah...2 or more beeps - RAM.....

Any other thoughts please?
Capt_Trips is offline  
Old 11-28-2006, 05:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default Re: Black screen, long beep....no start

Quote:
Originally posted by Capt_Trips
I have tried putting the Memory module (which is a DDR2 512MB) in a new slot. (I dont have a spare to try as of yet)
thats a problem right there when u hav OS installed never switch slots because u will get beeping errors and it wont POST

try resetting the CMOS or try a different RAM and see wat happenes.
u can test ur RAM for any errors using Microsoft Memtest on system boot just to make sure it working properly

or just read my sticky (POST troubleshooting Steps)
__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 11-28-2006, 05:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 9
Default

I only switched out the memory AFTER it gave me the black screen
Capt_Trips is offline  
Old 11-28-2006, 05:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default

ic,

anyluck resetting the BIOS?
__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 11-28-2006, 05:26 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 9
Default

The only way I could do anything with BIOS was to set the onboard jumper to clear it, but no luck...still black screen...i mean black like the monitor isnt even on at all.
Capt_Trips is offline  
Old 11-28-2006, 05:28 PM   #8 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default

can u hear any fans or ur HD spin when u press the power button?
__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 11-28-2006, 05:29 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 9
Default

Yes the fans work and i hear the HD and the DVD light comes on...but I have already changed out the video card to a known working one, and its still the same
Capt_Trips is offline  
Old 11-28-2006, 05:30 PM   #10 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Capt_Trips
The only way I could do anything with BIOS was to set the onboard jumper to clear it, but no luck...still black screen...i mean black like the monitor isnt even on at all.
thats not the only way u can reset the BIOS, u can pop the mobo battery for couple minutes with no power plugged in the back and then place it back in
__________________

__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.