black screen on bootup - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-13-2009, 01:53 PM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheHumanComputer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Inside A P c
Posts: 1,181
Default Re: black screen on bootup

BIOS Type AMI (09/12/08)

thats the bios type that come up on the everest

and yes im useing the Gforce 7050 onboard gpu
__________________

__________________
AMD FX 9370 @ 4.4Ghz
Asus Crosshair V Formula Z
Deepcool Genome Case with Watercooling
16GB DDR3 1600Mhz
EVGA GTX 980 SC 4GB
Areocool 750W Semi Modular PSU
TheHumanComputer is offline  
Old 03-13-2009, 02:27 PM   #12 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default Re: black screen on bootup

Have you tinkered at all with settings in the BIOS? You should probably clear the the CMOS and try to reboot.

Shut down, unplug power from PSU. After a few minutes look for the little silver watch type battery on the mobo. Pull it out and then replace it about 10 minutes later.

Then try to reboot and see if you have the same issue.
__________________

HAVOC is offline  
Old 03-13-2009, 02:28 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheHumanComputer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Inside A P c
Posts: 1,181
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HAVOC View Post
Have you tinkered at all with settings in the BIOS? You should probably clear the the CMOS and try to reboot.

Shut down, unplug power from PSU. After a few minutes look for the little silver watch type battery on the mobo. Pull it out and then replace it about 10 minutes later.

Then try to reboot and see if you have the same issue.
nope i dont play around with the BIOS at all lol

and ok ill try that in a min thanks for your help

Ok i reset the CMOS

when it first booted up it come up with this

DQS training on previous boot, reverted to slower DRAM speed

then it asked me to set the time/date so i did and it booted up just fine
__________________
AMD FX 9370 @ 4.4Ghz
Asus Crosshair V Formula Z
Deepcool Genome Case with Watercooling
16GB DDR3 1600Mhz
EVGA GTX 980 SC 4GB
Areocool 750W Semi Modular PSU
TheHumanComputer is offline  
Old 03-13-2009, 03:32 PM   #14 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default Re: black screen on bootup

Are you using G-Skill Ram? DDR2 1066?
HAVOC is offline  
Old 03-13-2009, 03:35 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheHumanComputer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Inside A P c
Posts: 1,181
Default Re: black screen on bootup

uhm im not sure it come with the bundle when i bought it

i know its ddr2 2GB 800MHz

*EDIT*

i loooked into the BIOS and went to the DRAM and it was set on auto im not sure if this is right or not

it goes upto 1000MHz
__________________
AMD FX 9370 @ 4.4Ghz
Asus Crosshair V Formula Z
Deepcool Genome Case with Watercooling
16GB DDR3 1600Mhz
EVGA GTX 980 SC 4GB
Areocool 750W Semi Modular PSU
TheHumanComputer is offline  
Old 03-13-2009, 03:50 PM   #16 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default Re: black screen on bootup

ok. Have you tried shutting it down and restarting it to see if it's still giving you the black screen on restart from the power button?
HAVOC is offline  
Old 03-13-2009, 03:54 PM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheHumanComputer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Inside A P c
Posts: 1,181
Default Re: black screen on bootup

yup i just did that and it didnt do it

its like it does it when i leave the computer off for like 7 hours

in the manual i got

its got a module table


memory module ------ memory bus
ddr2 400 ------ 200MHz
ddr2 533 ------ 266MHz
ddr2 667 ------ 333MHz
ddr2 800 ------ 400MHz
__________________
AMD FX 9370 @ 4.4Ghz
Asus Crosshair V Formula Z
Deepcool Genome Case with Watercooling
16GB DDR3 1600Mhz
EVGA GTX 980 SC 4GB
Areocool 750W Semi Modular PSU
TheHumanComputer is offline  
Old 03-13-2009, 04:04 PM   #18 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default Re: black screen on bootup

Yea. You're ram should be fine. I was just wondering about what type because not all DDR2 is compatible with AMD platforms. Some needs to have Northbridge voltage adjusted and timings relaxed.

Reply back tomorrow and let me know if it does it again after a few hours being off.
HAVOC is offline  
Old 03-13-2009, 04:07 PM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheHumanComputer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Inside A P c
Posts: 1,181
Default Re: black screen on bootup

oh ok

so im guessing it has nothing to do with the ram? lol

my game is going slow as well

its a online game pretty much like WoW

*edit* ok will do thanks for your help
__________________
AMD FX 9370 @ 4.4Ghz
Asus Crosshair V Formula Z
Deepcool Genome Case with Watercooling
16GB DDR3 1600Mhz
EVGA GTX 980 SC 4GB
Areocool 750W Semi Modular PSU
TheHumanComputer is offline  
Old 03-13-2009, 11:10 PM   #20 (permalink)
Inspired by Art
 
tastegw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,400
Default Re: black screen on bootup

are you sure it just isnt the crt warming up.

these crt's do not display a screen right away like lcd's
__________________

__________________
tastegw is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
will not reformat HD - stuck at black screen pcpower Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 02-03-2009 11:17 AM
Black screen error message on startup? akasixcon Microsoft Windows and Software 10 09-02-2008 08:41 PM
1/4th of screen black? Wetop Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 11 08-17-2008 04:05 AM
Screen goes black.... Dr DMoney Linux and Open Source 7 03-08-2008 06:03 PM
Screen stays black.... Cajete Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 04-01-2007 08:20 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.