Black screen with blinking underscore - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-15-2012, 11:34 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Jackel1337's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Waco
Posts: 23
Default Re: Black screen with blinking underscore

and ill give you abit more detail to how this happen, i was benchmarking one day, overclocked it to 5.1Ghz on all 8 cores with 5.250V to it, and it had no problems because i had it ice cold, but i ran cinebench and halfway through it crashed like always before when overclocking this rig, it would normally reboot or i would have to reset cmos... this time it gave a blank screen with blinking underscore, but from what all ive learned and read, the black screen with blinking underscore isnt a processor related issue... my instructor told me today to try and find a bad stick of ram... did that, it was pointless... every stick showed black screen problem.

- Jackel1337
__________________

Jackel1337 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 12:03 AM   #12 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,283
Default Re: Black screen with blinking underscore

If you put 5v through that CPU it is dead. Period. 5ghz doesn't even need 5v as the WR I believe was only at 1.8v for 8ghz or something like that under liquid helium. If you have 2 of the same board both bricked then you must realize you are doing something wrong.

If everything you did doesn't point to CPU, then the next thing is board like I said. If the board was dead though, it wouldn't do anything at all.

Btw, I might transfer to going to your school. Looked up your course, 5 Tesla machines? I'd like to play with one.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 12:14 AM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Jackel1337's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Waco
Posts: 23
Default Re: Black screen with blinking underscore

LOL *1.5250V* my bad.

- Jackel1337
Jackel1337 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 12:14 AM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Jackel1337's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Waco
Posts: 23
Default Re: Black screen with blinking underscore

yes the High Performance Computing Degree is well worth getting

- Jackel1337
Jackel1337 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 12:16 AM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Jackel1337's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Waco
Posts: 23
Default Re: Black screen with blinking underscore

my next build will be either the 3930k or a pair of xeons... i gotta see what all the hype is about the fast(er) stuff... and i want to get like 4 GTX 680's

- Jackel1337
Jackel1337 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 12:33 AM   #16 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,283
Default Re: Black screen with blinking underscore

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jackel1337 View Post
LOL *1.5250V* my bad.

- Jackel1337
That's better. Under sufficient cooling that wouldn't kill that CPU. Actually, I put 1.5v through my 2500k for a suicide run before.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jackel1337 View Post
yes the High Performance Computing Degree is well worth getting

- Jackel1337
I wouldn't say it's worth it. No practical use for it. I just want to go play with some Tesla cards.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jackel1337 View Post
my next build will be either the 3930k or a pair of xeons... i gotta see what all the hype is about the fast(er) stuff... and i want to get like 4 GTX 680's

- Jackel1337
All 3 are pointless. I have a 3960x. Can personally say, a 3770k would do any regular consumer fine. Dual Xeons, only needed for very heavy CPU tasks much like the SB-E chips.
4 680s is a complete waste unless you waste your life away benching with LN2 like I wish I was.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 12:38 AM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Jackel1337's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Waco
Posts: 23
Default Re: Black screen with blinking underscore

Future proof system... or something of the sort lol... and hpc is used everywhere...
__________________

Jackel1337 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
black screen, blinking underscore

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Black Screen of Death with blinking cursor outcast3rd Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 10 05-14-2012 05:32 PM
Black screen and blinking underscore *NOTHING WORKS* deius Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 03-07-2011 09:38 AM
Can't boot into safe mode or from cd, blinking cursor on black screen KatNelson7717 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 03-29-2010 04:41 PM
Black Screen Blinking Cursor NOT AGAIN! spikoman69 Microsoft Windows and Software 11 01-06-2008 07:46 PM
Computer troubles (Screen keeps blinking black) BigBucksT Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 08-11-2007 09:12 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.