Black Screen - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-03-2005, 09:21 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 21
Default Black Screen

Thank you guys for all the help in the past and future.

Here's what I have.....
Athlon 64 3000+ 939pin
Ati Raedon X850PE XT Pcie
1 gig ram
Windows XP home SP2

Ok, I was trying to get my network running. I have a Direcway 2 way system. (I know its crap, but its the best I can get where I live.) Well, the problem I was haveing was with ICS. While I could get the computers talking to each other I could not share the connection.

After awhile I just gave up. A friend of mine got me started back in EQ1 again and I transfered some files from the Dway computer to the one above. I use dial-up on that box so I can do the gameing thing. When loading EQ1 the patcher acted all funny killing my connection to the net without actually closeing it. I also installed the latest drivers for my vid card.

When I rebooted with the new drivers I would get past post etc, but before it would get to the "loading windows" screen (also before the refresh changes) it would stay on a black screen. The numberlock light on the keyboard would be stuck on and the only way to shut it off was the reset/power switch. The computer would reboot in safe mode and system restore would not fix the problem. I have also reinstalled windows a few times and I think I would have the problem when I installed the drivers. I just reinstalled windows again and I will try an older set of drivers to see.

Sorry for the long post, but I know you guys need as much info as possible
__________________

Matasata is offline  
Old 12-03-2005, 09:43 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

instead of reinstalling windows you could have tried a system restore. if you run into the problem again this time try a restore point first. check the IP address on the ICS computer. make sure the dialup connection is set to be shared in its properties. the IP should be 192.168.0.1
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 12-03-2005, 10:02 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 21
Default

First thing I did was a system restore. A few actually.

It is the Direcway system I am trying to share , not the dial-up.

That all just background info though so you can see what I was doing when the problem happened.

Here is some new info. Ok, I downloaded the microsoft .net framework on the Direcway computer and transfered it over to the computer I am having problems with. It installed just fine on the new windows install. I also downloaded the most current drivers for my video card and transfered it over as well. When I am installing the vid drivers norton pops up on the Direcway computer and proudly reports there is the W32.Licum virus in the vid driver's file in my shared folder. The computer I am installing the drivers on froze up as well before completeing the install. I scaned the files before I transfered them.
Matasata is offline  
Old 12-03-2005, 12:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 21
Default

It seems I had a rather bad viral infection. Could have swore I didn't but oh well I have it fixed thanks once again
Matasata is offline  
Old 12-03-2005, 12:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Run a Hijackthis log for us, if you think it virus/spyware related.
Ste is offline  
Old 12-03-2005, 03:01 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 21
Default

Here it is. I think it was some W32 worm thing that got me. My anti-virus seems to have it fixed though. Didnt know about the hijackthis before, but I ran one just in case.

Logfile of HijackThis v1.99.1
Scan saved at 2:58:14 PM, on 12/3/2005
Platform: Windows XP SP2 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP2 (6.00.2900.2180)

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\Ati2evxx.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccSetMgr.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\SNDSrvc.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\SPBBC\SPBBCSvc.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccEvtMgr.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\navapsvc.exe
C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\IWP\NPFMntor.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\CCPD-LC\symlcsvc.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\Ati2evxx.exe
C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SOUNDMAN.EXE
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccApp.exe
C:\Program Files\ATI Technologies\ATI.ACE\cli.exe
C:\Program Files\ATI Technologies\ATI.ACE\cli.exe
C:\Program Files\ATI Technologies\ATI.ACE\cli.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\wpabaln.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\drwtsn32.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\drwtsn32.exe
C:\Program Files\EverQuest\EverQuest.exe
C:\Documents and Settings\Matasata.THEKINGASS.000\Desktop\HijackThi s.exe
C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe

O2 - BHO: NAV Helper - {BDF3E430-B101-42AD-A544-FADC6B084872} - C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\NavShExt.dll
O3 - Toolbar: Norton AntiVirus - {42CDD1BF-3FFB-4238-8AD1-7859DF00B1D6} - C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\NavShExt.dll
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SoundMan] SOUNDMAN.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ccApp] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccApp.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Symantec NetDriver Monitor] C:\PROGRA~1\SYMNET~1\SNDMon.exe /Consumer
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ATICCC] "C:\Program Files\ATI Technologies\ATI.ACE\cli.exe" runtime -Delay
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [MSMSGS] "C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe" /background
O9 - Extra button: Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Windows Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
O17 - HKLM\System\CCS\Services\Tcpip\..\{0FDF9CD5-E395-4762-B676-406AE1C31AD5}: NameServer = 207.69.188.187 207.69.188.186
O17 - HKLM\System\CS1\Services\Tcpip\..\{0FDF9CD5-E395-4762-B676-406AE1C31AD5}: NameServer = 207.69.188.187 207.69.188.186
O23 - Service: Ati HotKey Poller - ATI Technologies Inc. - C:\WINDOWS\system32\Ati2evxx.exe
O23 - Service: ATI Smart - Unknown owner - C:\WINDOWS\system32\ati2sgag.exe
O23 - Service: Symantec Event Manager (ccEvtMgr) - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccEvtMgr.exe
O23 - Service: Symantec Password Validation (ccPwdSvc) - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccPwdSvc.exe
O23 - Service: Symantec Settings Manager (ccSetMgr) - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccSetMgr.exe
O23 - Service: Norton AntiVirus Auto-Protect Service (navapsvc) - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\navapsvc.exe
O23 - Service: Norton AntiVirus Firewall Monitor Service (NPFMntor) - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\IWP\NPFMntor.exe
O23 - Service: SAVScan - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\SAVScan.exe
O23 - Service: ScriptBlocking Service (SBService) - Symantec Corporation - C:\PROGRA~1\COMMON~1\SYMANT~1\SCRIPT~1\SBServ.exe
O23 - Service: Symantec Network Drivers Service (SNDSrvc) - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\SNDSrvc.exe
O23 - Service: Symantec SPBBCSvc (SPBBCSvc) - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\SPBBC\SPBBCSvc.exe
O23 - Service: Symantec Core LC - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\CCPD-LC\symlcsvc.exe
Matasata is offline  
Old 12-03-2005, 03:07 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Ya your clean.

but do you know if these 2 domains belong to your ISP?

O17 - HKLM\System\CCS\Services\Tcpip\..\{0FDF9CD5-E395-4762-B676-406AE1C31AD5}: NameServer = 207.69.188.187 207.69.188.186

O17 - HKLM\System\CS1\Services\Tcpip\..\{0FDF9CD5-E395-4762-B676-406AE1C31AD5}: NameServer = 207.69.188.187 207.69.188.186
Ste is offline  
Old 12-03-2005, 04:30 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 21
Default

I do not know. I am connected via earthlink on this box if that helps.
__________________

Matasata is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.