Bizarre power on issue - help appreciated! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-30-2006, 08:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 6
Default Bizarre power on issue - help appreciated!

I was recently tinkering with my system and when it came to pressing the power on button nothing happened. I opened up the case and the green light on the mobo was on so I knew power was getting there. I assumed it was a power switch issue so I shorted out the power switch pins on the mobo and all was well.

More recently I am getting the same problem but now shorting out the switch doesn't work. One morning she refused to power up so I laid it on its side, opened it up, pressed the switch a few times and swore at it. Nothing happened. SO I am just sitting there conjuring up new swear words when it just starts up, fans spinning and away we go - I never even touched it. I have restarted a number of times today and no problem. I'm afraid to power off for an extended time, but I live in Houston and this puppy puts out a fair amount of heat and we don't need any more heat in the house! This pattern now happens every day. I shut it down at night and then the next day it will not start unless I lay it on its side and start to disassemble the case and then it starts with no button pressing!

So it doesnt seem to me that it could be a PSU problem? While running, voltages are stable etc. So is it a mobo problem? It seems after an extended shutdown (i.e. overnight) it cools down (?) and then won't start. Is that a symptom of something cracked? A grounding problem? How does it fix itself and then start without pressing the button?

I don't mind replacing parts - I just don't know which parts or how to troubleshoot this problem.

Any suggestions?
__________________

chris935 is offline  
Old 08-30-2006, 08:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,403
Default

Sounds to me and if the CPU is going... I have this problem now with a 3800 x2... tell's me the core voltage is bad.... might want to start there???
__________________

__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 08-30-2006, 10:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 6
Default

Well I am not ruling that out, but I have just upgraded to a new CPU (X2 4600+) and I was having the problem before that too. My core voltage is fine and the CPU seems to work flawlessly.

How would I check that? When one presses the little button on the case, what are the sequence of events that lead to powering up?
chris935 is offline  
Old 08-31-2006, 06:18 AM   #4 (permalink)
TechyBurst
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: yucca valley, California
Posts: 517
Send a message via AIM to Dr.Gootch Send a message via MSN to Dr.Gootch
Default

lol chris ur funny like how u put it down lol.. cussing at it ah priceless... i cuss at mine 2!!!! works tho hahaha. i think nukem is right
__________________
Rebuilding in progress... Pending Specs....

Yours Truly,
Dr.Gootch
Dr.Gootch is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.