Biostar NF4ST audio problems......PLZ HELP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-27-2005, 09:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 62
Send a message via AIM to robertconley619
Default Biostar NF4ST audio problems......PLZ HELP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Alright about 2 weeks ago, i got a new computer from cpusolutions.com. The BBB gave them a good review so i said, why not? Anyway about 2 days ago, I downloaded GTA: Vice City off Limewire and when i booted up the game, it said no audio device found. So for some strange reason, i deleted the old driver and then when i realized what I had done, I quickly went to Biostar's website and downloaded the new driver from there. (The reason why I didn't reinstall the original driver is because the dvd burner broke during shipping.) I thought that the new driver should have taken care of things, but it didn't so that's why I'm here. If anyone could help, please help me because I really don't have any cash right now to spend on a pci sound card..........
Specs:
Biostar NF4ST-A9 (duh!!!!)
AMD 3200+ @ stock speed
1 gig of ram (cpusolutions didn't specify what kind)
250 gig WD sata hard drive
Evga 6600 256 mb video card
Realtek AC'97 onboard audio
__________________

robertconley619 is offline  
Old 08-27-2005, 09:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

what version of the driver did you try?
try downloading a newer/older version of it and see if it works.
also, are you sure you downloaded the right driver?
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 08-27-2005, 10:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 62
Send a message via AIM to robertconley619
Default

I forgot what version of the driver it was, but I went straight to biostar's website and they said it was the new drivers. But I will see if I can find the old ones

*edit*I just went to there site and the new drivers were the only ones listed (for the regular audio)

*edit #2* there are 2 different types of drivers on that site, 1 is for all the chipsets including audio and the other is just plain audio. Should I try the first 1 and see if that helps?
__________________
My rig............

Biostar NF4ST-A9
AMD 3200+ sckt 939
1 gig of corsair value ram
250 gig sata150 WD hard drive
Dynex 5.1 sound card
Evga 6600 256mb Pci-E video card
robertconley619 is offline  
Old 08-27-2005, 10:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

yes, try any other driver you can find.
there is a place called driverguide (user name: drivers, pass: all) which has a crapload of drivers. there's about no driver itdoesn't have.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 08-28-2005, 09:06 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 62
Send a message via AIM to robertconley619
Default

Well I tried all the driver stuff and none of it worked. Any other suggestions anyone?
Also I did find one of the drivers driverguide doesn't have, mine!!!!!!!!!!
robertconley619 is offline  
Old 08-28-2005, 10:40 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

id just get a pci soundcard. u said you cant afford one, but you can get a cheap one that will handle 5.1 for next to nothing these days. about 10 brithish pounds will get you one.
joshd is offline  
Old 08-28-2005, 12:35 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 62
Send a message via AIM to robertconley619
Default

well i was considering buying one but I was thinking since my computer is still under warranty, id have them take a look at it but seeing how i start school next week, i can't afford to do that, so right now im stuck between a rock and a hard place. I'd hate to ask this question again but, is there any other suggestions or something we overlooked?
__________________
My rig............

Biostar NF4ST-A9
AMD 3200+ sckt 939
1 gig of corsair value ram
250 gig sata150 WD hard drive
Dynex 5.1 sound card
Evga 6600 256mb Pci-E video card
robertconley619 is offline  
Old 08-30-2005, 10:30 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 62
Send a message via AIM to robertconley619
Default

Well every1, we have a bit more bad news for this post:
I just reinstalled the old drivers and the sound ISN'T WORKING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!WTF!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
PLZ HELP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
__________________
My rig............

Biostar NF4ST-A9
AMD 3200+ sckt 939
1 gig of corsair value ram
250 gig sata150 WD hard drive
Dynex 5.1 sound card
Evga 6600 256mb Pci-E video card
robertconley619 is offline  
Old 08-31-2005, 07:14 AM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 62
Send a message via AIM to robertconley619
Default

Never mind about my last post.......The driver was installed correctly but I didn't configure it properly so now it's working
__________________

__________________
My rig............

Biostar NF4ST-A9
AMD 3200+ sckt 939
1 gig of corsair value ram
250 gig sata150 WD hard drive
Dynex 5.1 sound card
Evga 6600 256mb Pci-E video card
robertconley619 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.