BIOS Update Issue - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-28-2012, 06:48 AM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Arizona
Posts: 79
Send a message via Skype™ to ImTorey
Default BIOS Update Issue

I have a EVGA nForce 590SLI and randomly decided to update my BIOS, there has only been one update since release and it was right after so I'm assuming it may have been important, I don't know I've never done it but. I burned the img to a dvd ran it at startup and it says Press Y to start and N to exit, neither work. Obviosly there is no buttons but when I type Y or y or 'y' 'Y' "Y" any comination nothing works, tried f1 etc i always have to cntrl alt del to restart pc. Any ideas?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813188016

http://www.evga.com/support/download...er=122-M2-NF59
__________________

ImTorey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2012, 11:57 AM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: BIOS Update Issue

USB keyboard? Make sure USB is enabled in BIOS use. Failing that, I'd try hooking up a PS/2 keyboard (if your motherboard has ports for them).
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2012, 12:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Arizona
Posts: 79
Send a message via Skype™ to ImTorey
Default Re: BIOS Update Issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
USB keyboard? Make sure USB is enabled in BIOS use. Failing that, I'd try hooking up a PS/2 keyboard (if your motherboard has ports for them).
Did both before hand, forget to mention and it wouldn't matter anyway it's entering the text but its saying something like (no command) or w.e invalid command, something along those lines.
ImTorey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MSI "LIve update" - Rubbish, so how do I update my bios?? NutterzUK Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 10-28-2009 10:20 AM
Should I update Bios? brewabeer Overclocking and Modding 4 05-20-2008 01:29 PM
BIOS update Syrillian Microsoft Windows and Software 4 09-02-2006 12:07 PM
BIOS update Stupid Microsoft Windows and Software 2 03-20-2004 04:28 PM
BIOS update Spencer Microsoft Windows and Software 1 11-01-2003 07:44 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.