BIOS update - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-01-2008, 09:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default BIOS update

So.. this is my last, I am dumb thread for a while.

Now, the manual is not helping me much. It wants me to use the asus flash program that came with it. But* I was hoping you guys could help me, with a nice simple bios flash, so I can get my e8400 installed and ship away my e6600.
So what program do you guys use? and I have never done this before, so an idiots guide would be wonderful! thanks for your time

help out a noob?

hardware in sig
__________________

__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Old 02-01-2008, 10:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 55
Send a message via AIM to Black.Ice. Send a message via MSN to Black.Ice.
Default Re: BIOS update

TEE HEE!

I use an ASUS mobo so I can give a little help.

One of the many great features of ASUS mobos is that they have a feature called EZflash which is basically a user-friendly bios update tool. I've used this before and I've had no problems. You have to go into the Bios and enable it. Put it on a flash drive or floppy and EZflash should recognize it. THen go ahead and flash!

Or....You can use a ASUS OS-based utility tool called ASUS update which lets you update from Windows, But I highly recommend against it since it isn't always safe.
__________________

Black.Ice. is offline  
Old 02-01-2008, 10:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: BIOS update

Quote:
Originally Posted by Black.Ice. View Post
TEE HEE!

I use an ASUS mobo so I can give a little help.

One of the many great features of ASUS mobos is that they have a feature called EZflash which is basically a user-friendly bios update tool. I've used this before and I've had no problems. You have to go into the Bios and enable it. Put it on a flash drive or floppy and EZflash should recognize it. THen go ahead and flash!

Or....You can use a ASUS OS-based utility tool called ASUS update which lets you update from Windows, But I highly recommend against it since it isn't always safe.
I will go ahead and try that. I will be right back, hopefully with new bios

WOW. That was the easiest thing I can remember doing that seemed hard in a long time. Can someone delete this, so I feel like less of retard ;D
__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New eVGA 8800GT BIOS update maroon1 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 01-16-2008 12:51 PM
Possible to update Bios without Floppy? aetherh4cker Microsoft Windows and Software 5 01-09-2008 08:03 PM
Update BIOS on older Compaq PC tonyisnt Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 12-23-2007 11:39 PM
Best way to update BIOS? Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 21 09-12-2007 03:15 PM
Dell D820 Bios Update BubbaGump69 Microsoft Windows and Software 1 04-23-2007 08:00 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.